French Silk Chocolate Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
It is indeed a delicious treat! As an earlier review noted, the eggs should be separated, the yolks beaten one at a time into the creamed butter/sugar mixture, and then the whites beaten with sugar and folded into the chocolate mixture. I've made this using eggs pasteurized at home (warmed to room temperature, then held for 3 minutes in ample 145 degree water, then cooled) and it works well. The meringue may not have quite the volume as when made from raw egg white, but it's plenty light to make a delicious, ample filling for an 8-inch shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twall10107

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I almost only used 1 egg because it was already so light and fluffy. It was ever so slightly grainy---I think if I had beat it a little longer before I added the eggs it would've been completely smooth. I used regular sugar. Flavor was delish. Definitely beat 5 minutes after each egg. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This is tasty, but I feel guilty eating it! First off, I doubled the filling or else it would have been puny. Next time I'll cut the sugar to about 1 - 1.25 cups because it seems a bit sweet. I also only used 3 squares chocolate when doubling. You might even get by with less than that. I think it would be way too rich with the original recipe. With these modifications I think I can enjoy this fully, sacrifice little on taste and not feel guilty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Excellent. Made it following the recipe exactly. Sweet and rich, it was a hit with the entire family. I would not change a single thing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
YUMMY YUMMY! I was a lil worried about making this after reading some of the reviews saying there was not enough filling but decided to just try it and followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect....and actually I have a 10 inch pie pan and it was fine. I'm guessing some folks didn't whip the eggs in long enough because mine whipped up just fine in my kitchenaid stand mixer with the whip attachment. I let each egg whip the 5 full min each and had no issues. Also some folks thought it was gritty but I didn't have that issue either. DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I am not a novice baker/cook. I bake and cook everything in my home from scratch. I typically make a chocolate pudding-type pie and thought I would try something new. As-is, this recipe is mediocre at best. With the changes people have mentioned (whisk attachment, beat on high, double the filling), it is better, but mine is still a tad grainy from the sugar, and was no where near chocolatey enough, I added 2 TBS cocoa and wish I had added more. The main picture is especially deceptive, as the texture is no where near what is depicted. If you make the changes, you'll have a decent chocolate silk pie. As for me, I'm sticking with my dark chocolate pudding pie from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Very good! You really have to beat it for the full 5 minutes after each egg or it is gritty and of weird texture, I like to double the recipe to make the pie fuller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
this pie was amazing! Definitely going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Q2GGIRL
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was my first time making a chocolate pie of any kind. I was worried because it came out soupy and not thick like the video shows. So it was only one inch worth in a 6oz chocolate cookie crust. I served it with whipped cream and chocolate shavings and I must say it was delicious! I would definitely make this again. The chocolate cookie crust made it worth it. Very smooth and not grainy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
When I made a lot of changes to this recipe it came out great. I did what Barb suggested, whipping in two more egg whites and 1/4 a cup of sugar. Also, I used cocoa powder and some melted chocolate to make a greater chocolate taste. Came out great :3 I can't give this a 5 stars because the recipe itself was not completed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States