French Silk Chocolate Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I followed this recipe to the letter & it was a disaster. The sugar made it so grainy it had the mouthfeel of sand. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Just made this recipe for our 16th anniversary. Total disappointment. Tasted like chocolate cake icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Super simple and delicious! If you use a regular pie shell (not deep dish) and actually whip the mixture after each egg for 5 minutes it does make enough to make fill the shell. I have a Kitcheaid stand mixer and switched from the paddle to the wisk when I added the eggs. I added one egg, whipped for 5 minutes, added the second egg, whipped for 5 minutes, and it turned out fluffy and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly with one exception. I beat the ingredients on 3 because my speed 2 does not work on my hand mixer. I used a metal bowl and mixed until my butter and sugar were almost white. I beat the eggs for the full 5 minutes each. Because I like to put things away as I go, I also added the vanilla to the chocolate before it was completely cooled and it bubbled and made the chocolate thicken up. (not sure I would do this again, but it didn't seem to matter) I am making chocolate cream puffs with this instead of a pie. From the amount of filling I have, I can't imagine that this would not be more than enough for a 9 inch pan. Most mistakes that are made with baking are not taking the time to beat things as long as the recipe states or not doing things in the correct order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This is my son's favorite pie. But I do double the recipe and use a deep dish pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Even better than bakers square french silk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
The pie was delicious! However, my filling came out very light brown compare to the picture. Does anyone have a clue why? I used 4 ounces of chocolate since I double the recipe. Was that accurate or did I made a mistake there and that's the reason why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This turned out fantastic. We doubled the recipe to fit into a deep dish pie crust (about 2 inches). We made it following the instructions exactly and it fit into the pie crust perfectly. I would highly recommend letting this set in the fridge overnight. Make sure to wait 5 minutes in between eggs, we had to be extra patient waiting 20 minutes. As far as the raw eggs, I'm not an expert, but as far as I understand it, Salmonella is extremely rare these days and even if a batch of eggs is infected it is quickly pulled from the shelves once anything is reported. As long as you don't fit into one of the at risk categories you have very little to worry about. For example, we didn't allow our 1 or 3 year old to have any of the pie. Thats just my two cents, do your own research.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
The taste and consistency was just right, however, the sugar never dissolved completely so it was grainy. Also, it did not fill an 8" pre made oreo pie crust. I added a lot of whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brbs
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made this pie for fathers day and it turned out really good. It is super simple to make and doesn't require a whole lot of ingredients. It might of only made about a little over an inch of filling for a 9 inch pie crushed, but after garnishing with cool whip and chocolate chips it looked completely fine.It tastes just like a french silk pie should and everyone who tried it said it was good and that they really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States