French Silk Chocolate Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Perfect! Very rich and delicious. Followed the directions exactly - you MUST beat the eggs into the mixture for the 5 minutes each in order to get the volume needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I was having Mom in for Christmas Dinner & she said she wanted Chocolate Pie. I had never made one & came across this recipe. It seemed easy enough & the reviews were great. I followed the recipe exactly & it came out perfect. I used an Oreo ready made pie crust. It could have been higher to fill the shell, but in my opinion that wasn't necessary. With the shell filled this amount the sizes were perfect. Mom loved it & said it was "Better than Perkins" Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Because I was low on time (and sick as a dog), I made a chocolate cookie crust instead of using a pastry shell. I took some of the other reviewers suggestions and doubled the filling. I'm glad I did, because the pie would have only filled the pie shell just under halfway if I hadn't doubled it. It really was a simple pie and the outcome was a very rich and decadent pie that was almost truffle like in mouth feel. We absolutely loved it, my husband ate two pieces back to back. Excellent pie. I think this could also make a good mousse pie next time if I was to fold in sweetened whipped cream instead of doubling the filling. NOTE: I'm sure if I had waited five minutes between each egg, my filling amount would have been perfect. That being said, I think my oldest son did a bang up job on his own and the results were great for us even if the original filling amount wasn't enough for us. Next time, I'll make this myself and see what the outcome is, then re-review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This pie is fantastic as I've made it probably close to a dozen times for gatherings and there's never any leftovers. Honestly, I've never made it with real eggs as I've always substituted with Egg Beaters until today. We'll see how it goes with the real eggs. I only gave it 4 stars because like a lot of other reviewers, this recipe does not make enough filling for an entire pie. I highly recommend doubling the ingredients and if you have leftovers, I usually put it in a bowl and eat it later. I don't recommend using whip cream as it melts too quickly and you can make your own homemade whip cream fairly easily for about the same price as store bought. All you need is 1 cup heavy whipping cream, 1 tablespoon granulated sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. You mix all three together and beat it with an electric mixer on medium to medium high until you form stiff peaks. You will then have a great tasting homemade whipped topping that won't melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Good the first time I made it! Thought, out of the two pies I made, one ended up in the deep freezer for over three months...It was even more delicious then! Wonderful recipe, will do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Great recipe! I made an oreo cookie crust and doubled the filling. The pie would not have had enough filling using the recipe as posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Wonderful!!! Make sure to beat after each egg the full 5 min. I also doubled the recipe, but I think 1 1/2 would have been enough. So easy and delicious! Also, I added some confectoner's sugar at the end to sweeten it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I find this pie just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
The first time I ever tried French Silk Pie was at my favorite eatery, and since that has gone out of business, I have been craving this delicious pie. It takes a long time to make the filling, but let me tell you that it is worth every second you put into it. I did do a few things to speed up the process. After melting the chocolate, I put it in the refrigerator so it would cool completely, and a little bit faster. In my opinion, it didn't change a thing. I also doubled the recipe, which personally, I didn't think was necessary. If you put in the time and effort, the filling is naturally fluffy, and expands to fit in a pie pan. Doubling the recipe did give me an extra pie, which I am very grateful for because it allowed me to taste test it before I show it off tomorrow, at Thanksgiving Dinner. I will be putting on whipped cream once I get to the dinner, and garnishing with chocolate chips, as I have no chocolate shavings. Pictures to come, if I can manage to take them before my family devours it. This is definitely a repeat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I'm in love! I always make the chocolate pie for our (large) Thanksgiving family gathering, and I know this will be a huge hit this year! I appreciate the suggestions to increase the amounts of the ingredients for a more fully filled pie. I trebled the recipe to fill two 8 inch chocolate cookie crumb crusts. I use an organic granulated sugar, which is a little on the course side, and so at first I was concerned that the grainy texture would not smooth out, but by the addition of the two final eggs (obediently beating in for 5 minutes after each egg - thank goodness for my KitchenAid!) I could see that the texture was smoothing out. Indeed the result is a wonderfully silky, smooth and rich chocolate decadence! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States