French Silk Chocolate Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Sugar-ier and heavier than I'd hoped. Still on the prowl for the perfect French silk chocolate recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Great recipe. But there are some things to consider. If you are going to ad a layer of whip cream doubling the recipe may not be necessary. If you do double it only add 1 cup of sugar total other wise it is way too sweet. It is not necessary to double the butter however leave that at 1/2 cup. I also had the problem of the pie tasting granular. And just when I was about to toss it out and start over with powdered sugar the granules went away. The key is to beat it on high not medium for 5 minutes each egg. I didn't use real eggs either I used the stuff in the box. Turned out great. If you don't have a stand mixer I would say to use powdered sugar off of the bat. If you do have a stand mixer make it!! It is a great pie but beat the living daylights out of it so its not grainy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bay City, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I followed the directions exactly and got a runny pie that never set. It seemed like it was missing ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnyrac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This pie was really easy to make! But it came out way too sweet because I doubled the recipe like many of the reviews suggested. My suggestion - if you don't want to be eating granules and crunching on every bite of your 'silk' pie, leave the sugar to about one cup. Other than that, it would have been perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Super easy to make and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I only had a hand mixer, so that may have contributed, but overall, had to add an extra egg, and the sugar remained grainy in the end product :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This did not set up at all. It had the consistency and taste of melted chocolate ice cream in a pie shell. Don't go through all the trouble of making this when you can get the same results by melting ice cream...I followed the recipe, beat the eggs for as long as it said and it still didn't work. And I agree it didn't make all that much either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cake-batter-nevermore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iowa Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is presented as a dump recipe, with all ingredients dumped together. It is NOT a dump recipe. Take all of the sugar and process in a food processor, or buy ultra fine sugar at the store. 1/4 cup of that sugar keep aside. Use 3 eggs. Separate the eggs, reserve the whites. Heat the chocolate, but don't add it to the butter until everything goes together. Take the egg whites and the reserved sugar and make a meringue. Now add the warm chocolate to the cold butter-mix, mixing well. now fold in the meringue, not mixing, not beating, you want the air to stay in the egg whites. Chill this quickly, the butter thats in this needs to only be warm enough to work with the whole time for this recipe. If the butter runs, it's ruined. Hope this helps all of you. remember, yolks with the butter, whites with the sugar, this will help keep things as light-textured as possible. enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit - everyone loved it. It was a little thick after it set up, kind of like fudge. So the next time right before I poured it into the pie crust, I folded in 1/4 container of coolwhip and that helped a ton. My ultra picky husband even liked it! Still plenty chocolatey and super yummy. And the recipe doesn't need to be doubled with the cool whip. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I was able to get plenty of the french silk for my pie because I waited more than 5 minutes between eggs. My problem was that the sugar stayed very grainy and it was inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States