French Silk Chocolate Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by TheBakeress
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Taking the recommendations of other reviewers, I doubled the recipe. I attempted to rid the pie of its grainy texture by separately beating the egg whites; sadly this didn't work for me, but because of this pie's great flavor and richness, it is still five stars to me! I used a 9-in pastry shell. I let the pie chill for four hours in the fridge, then decorated it with cool whip, two squares of Ghirardelli dark chocolate, and cocoa powder. yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Delicious! When I follow the directions, this comes out great. I don't recommend doubling the butter, which I accidentally did the last time I made this pie. The flavor is still good, but the consistency is quite firm. My husband still ate it, of course - but I prefer it with the amount of butter actually indicated in the recipe. :0) I like to make fresh whipped cream and spread over the entire pie, then top with chocolate shavings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLICAT2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
You need to double the recipe: 1 cup sugar, 1 cup butter, 4 oz chocolate, 2 tsp vanilla and 4 eggs and this is PERFECT. The texture and taste is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Awesome recipe. As is mentioned by Barb, it's missing a few steps. So here's what I did: I separated the eggs (make absolutely sure there is no yolk in the whites, a single speck of yellow will ruin your whites. Also, if you use 3-4 day old eggs the whites will be thicker than that of fresh eggs), then I beat the whites until they formed soft peaks and slowly added 1/4 cup of the sugar to them and continued to beat until they formed stiff peaks. I only have one stand mixer, so I moved the whites into a separate container and then creamed the butter, vanilla, and the rest of the sugar together. I added the eggs and chocolate and beat for about 2-3 mins before folding in the egg whites and beat for about another minute. I used a store bought chocolate pie crust and it filled it up perfectly. There was even a little too much filling, so I just ate that and it was wonderful. I will definitely make this again, it's a major hit at family gatherings and it's really not a lot of work. Next time I will double the recipe, but only so that I can bring two pies with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
My family loved this. Made an oreo cookie crust using 1-1/2 cups crushed oreos & 3 Tlbs. melted butter. Mix the butter & crushed oreos together and press into you pie pan, Bake @ 350 for 10 - 15 minutes. Let the crust cool and then fill with the filling (make sure that you whip the filling really well). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRIS0401

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bisbee, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I took other reviewer's advise. I separated the eggs, and beet the whites to stiff peaks. Meanwhile I mixed the rest of the ingredients for a loooong time (30-40 min)in order to dissolve all of the sugar I could. I carefully folded in the whipped egg whites, filled the pie crust, covered the pie plate, and chilled it. It came out GREAT! One tip would be to take the pie out of the fridge a few minutes before serving. Cold it is a bit dense, but close to room temp it gets silky smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This recipe turned out grainy and not good. I followed the recipe as written and beat the mixture on high speed for longer than listed and it still didn't turn out. It's edible but I wouldn't recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
The easiest and (by FAR) best chocolate silk pie! I highly rec. this. The texture is just perfect and its makes a delicious cold/creamy dessert. This is a perfect dessert for any occasion-Bring it to a bbq kick-out or bring it to a fancy friends celebration...either way it fits in PERFECT! * * * * *
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Cozycook*

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This is a great recipe and very similar to mine but I substitute the melted baking chocolate for 3T baking cocoa and 1 T. vegetable oil. I think it gives it a better flavor. I also double the recipe for more filling. My family and friends all rave about it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chermeco

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bhoneycutt
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Very Rich but I love rich :) I can see how it may be overpowering for the weaker ones. I didn't have any problems with it being grainy but I do have a stand mixer with the whisk attachment and let the eggs whisk up for 5 mins a piece. Giving it only 4 stars because the wife thought it was too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States