French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
This crust was great! Great flavor even though it doesn't have any butter in it.(I'm a true butter lover) And it has a great texture, tender and flaky. The key is to not over work it. When I added the liquids and stirred with a fork to get everything somewhat mixed, I then dumped the dough onto a piece of cling wrap where I used it to lightly squeeze it together until it formed a nice ball. If you knead this dough too much it flatten all the shortening pieces. Therefore you won't have anymore flaky, just tough. The cling wrap trick also helps in not adding extra flour as you do when you knead, and that can also make a tough dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
THIS IS THE FIRST TIME I HAVE EVER THOUGHT ABOUT REVIEWING A RECIPE (AND BELIEVE ME I HAVE USED QUITE A FEW GOOD ONES), BUT THIS ONE WAS WORTH THE TIME AND EFFORT. YOU MUST UNDERSTAND THAT USUALLY I WOULD NOT BOTHER TO REVIEW A PRODUCT IF I HAVE TO BECOME A MEMBER, BUT AGAIN I PUT THAT ASIDE BECAUSE I WAS SO ANXIOUS TO REVIEW THIS CRUST. I HAVE NEVER BAKED A PIE CRUST BEFORE AND FRANKLY I WAS SCARED TO DEATH TO TRY, BUT I READ THIS ONE AND DECIDED TO TRY IT; THAT WAS THE BEST CHOICE I COULD HAVE MADE. THIS CRUST WAS LIGHT AND VERY FLAVORFUL. I MUST ADMIT I DID USE CHILLED BUTTER INSTEAD OF SHORTENING. REGARDLESS, THIS CRUST IS SUPERB AND EVERYONE WHO HAS TRIED THIS CRUST RAVES ABOUT IT. THANK YOU TO WHOMEVER SUBMITTED THIS RECIPE BECAUSE IT IS A KEEPER THAT I PLAN ON PASSING DOWN TO MY LUCKY CHILDREN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
excellent! Used my food processor. Added flour, sugar, salt and butter and pulsed until bread crumb consistancy. Added liquid down the funnel. Took less than 2 minutes! Baked it as an apple pie. Beautiful flaky pastry with next to no effort. A have to try recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Outstanding recipe. It's amazing what the addition of an egg and a little vinegar do to an ordinary pie crust. Easily the best dessert pie crust I've ever made or eaten. This is the ultimate crust for "Grandma Ople's Apple Pie" (available on AllRecipes). Also, through a successful experiment, I discovered that if one follows this recipe, but reduces the sugar to only one tablespoon (instead of three), the result is an incomparable crust for chicken pot pie. Print this recipe and DO NOT LOSE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I use this pie crust for every sweet pie that I make. I love it because it compliments the filling perfectly! For easy cleanup and rolling, I place the dough in a huge gallon ziplock bag, place it in the freezer to chill for 15 minutes, and cut the ziplock bag on two sides. So, the pie crust dough is in between the two layers of plastic and its wayy easier to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
I discovered this recipe a few months ago while looking for a blueberry pie recipe. The reviews suggested using this crust. I am so thankful! Having never made pie crust before I had a backup plan; a store bought crust to use when I screwed this up. To my delight, the store bought remains in my freezer. This is the most delicious pie crust. I have made probably 30 pies in the past 2 months and every one has been consistent. I always use 5 tablespoons of ice water and just mix till everything is combined. I try not to overwork. Sometimes the dough appears crumbly in the bowl, but I just push it together, roll it and the results are a perfect, flaky crust every time. Everyone comments on how delicious the crust is! Thank you TJ, I will never forget you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
After reading reviews, I used half butter and half shortening. The crust tends to brown quickly, so I suggest covering edges with foil. I found it a bit too salty, so I cut the salt in half also. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joyce
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This pie crust was quick and not too difficult to make! i thought that it'd be a lot harder, since i've tried and failed with other recipes at making pie crusts from scratch. I substituted 50ml of the shortening for 50ml of butter for colour and flavour. Also, I brushed an egg wash over top of the crust before I popped it into the oven. The suggestion to wrap foil over the edge of the crust is a good suggestion, but unecessary. I followed the suggestion and wrapped foil over the edge of the pie crust I made, but when I put it into the oven, half of the foil fell off. I am a very lazy person so I decided not to fix the foil. When the pie was done baking, I found that the side of the pie where the foil remained wrapped.. was very pale and not very nice in colour; however, the side where the foil fell off was beautifully goldened! It's up to you~ but the next time I make this crust, I'm not going to wrap the foil around the edge of the crust. OOH! Almost forgot! Do not be alarmed if the dough doesn't "form a ball". When I did it, I used all 5 tablespoons of water, but it still didn't come together to "form a ball". After you refrigerate it, it will be "easy as pie" (pardon the pun) to roll out. OH! and I rolled out the dough between 2 pieces of wax paper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
my late cousin used to make a similar crust with the vinegar and egg. This is a wonderful recipe. I used the butter flavor crisco, as it gives crusts a beautiful golden color as well as add flavor. This baked up so beautifully; was used for a lemon meringue pie. I prodded the bottom with fork and for the first time ever I've not had a crust shrink away from the sides!....just wonderful and this is what I will use from now on. I used other reviewers' suggestions of: #1. toss the wet and dry with 2 forks, as it limits the handling of the dough (works wonders!) #2. put dough in a ziplock bag, sealed it, and rolled it out with rolling pin and put in fridge. I just cut the one side of the ziplock bag and placed in a pan...that's another great tip! thanks for the best recipe and thanks to the others for great tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
This is my new pie crust recipe. I've been looking for "the" pie crust for some time and just haven't been quite happy. My husband even asked if this was a new recipe and said it was awesome; you've got your pie crust recipe now. Only thing I did different was cut off about 2 T. of shortening and replaced it with butter. Just a little butter to add a little hint of flavor, but not much. The crust was easy to mix (use my KitchenAid processor) and rolled out great. I just can't say it enough...this crust is the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States