French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Ablaine22
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was my very first attempt at making a pie or pie crust. I chose this crust because of its ratings and I thought the picture looked very pretty. It turned out amazing my first try. I followed the recipe exactly except I added 1 tsp water in the end. I read a lot of the reviews before I started. The other reviewers are right, this dough looks scary! But thanks to other reviewers I did not worry about it at all, I just went along with it. I also used 2 forks to mix the wet and dry (to limit the handling) and used butter flavored Crisco, per some of the other reviews. I made a full top crust and it looked beautiful when it was fully baked! Not to mention it was delicious, it was the *perfect* flavor and flakiness. My husband absolutely loved it and told me it was the best crust he had ever had, along with the pie. This is no light compliment because his mom is able to cook like a champ and makes all of her own stuff from scratch. She is an amazing cook, and he would not just throw out a compliment like that. I paired this crust with “Apple Pie by Grandma Ople.” This will for sure be my “go to” crust for fruit pies from now on just because of how awesome it is. I have also never had a better crust on a fruit pie. A+++ rating and definitely will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ablaine22

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
the ingredients are spot on, I just wonder if I need to cook it first before using it for a pie. Pretty impressed though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is a five star recipe. I used less water and added more sugar (brown instead of white) and still had amazing results. Thank you for posting. I love how it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetSingerMia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nas
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
The best crust ever. I made small change,substitute 1/2 cup shortning to 1/2 cup cold butter. It was flaky and cripsy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I've used this recipe several times now. I really like it. It's easy to work with and it tastes really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
BEST PIE CRUST RECIPE EVER!! It baked fantastically! I used butter instead of the shortening (because I always sub with butter for shortening. I just love the flavor it gives). I also had to add a little more water to get it to come together. It was just a fantastic recipe and I will be using it from now on! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I have faithfully used this recipe for easily the last five years. I absolutely love it. It's delicious. Super easy to make and works with almost any kind of pie. You simply can't screw this recipe up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Fantastic pie crust! Flavor is better than any pie crust you'll get at the grocery store. Watch the edges while baking because they can burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is my first time making a pastry crust from scratch and it turned out great! It was a little dense, but with more practice, I'll get it down. I used butter instead of shortening, but I didn't change anything else. It baked very nicely on my fruit tart. This recipe is not at all difficult, and would work great on any kind of tart or fruit pie. If you take the sugar out, it would probably be good for a pot pie, too. I'm making this my go-to crust from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Fabulous!! Love it.. much better than the traditional dough- this is worth eating..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chamberfamfl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States