French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
The perfect pastry crust! I use it for pies, tarts, empanadas - you name it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This is a GREAT recipe. I'm only an amateur when it comes to baking but I wanted to try making pie and this crust was so easy for me to make. After coming out the crust was nice and flaky and I made egg custard pie with it. I shared it with my friends and they LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Loved this! At first I was concerned I wouldn't be able to roll it out properly because it was so sticky but after being put in the fridge it was like a different dough. It was wonderful to work with and baked up light and flaky. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
EXCELLENT! No need to say more other than, thank you and I will use this recipe from now on. I thought my recipe was good and here you go trumping me and showing off. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Neff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Was told it was the best pie crust my tasters had ever had! Subbed good butter for the shortening, ended up adding another TBSP of water to form into ball, more flour to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I love this crust best for pot pie recipes work's so nice texture hold's together in oven with all the gravy and vegetable's just an awesome crust another one that will be handed down to my kid's and hopefully their kid's too.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
The crust tasted ok but it was horrible to roll out. The dough crumbled while rolling. I had to keep add water too it in addition to what the recipe called for, kneading it in at the last minute to keep it from cracking as I rolled it. Defiantly better for a fruit or meat pie then a custard recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Great recipe for pie crust. I usually double the sugar as I prefer my crust a little sweeter. I definitely prefer the flavor of this crust over a butter crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I made this following other's suggestions, one batch with shortening, one with butter...both came out flaky. I used one for two pies, and one batch for chicken pot pies (less sugar). Easy to make....and I kept one in the frig for several hours before baking, still came out great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This crust was very easy to put together, especially using the food processor. Just mixed the dry ingredients with the butter and shortening (used a little of each) in the machine, then added the blended egg/water/vinegar mixture in the little 'drizzle' cap and pulsed a few more times. Was very careful to not overwork and it came together very nicely and was easy to roll. My only problem with the crust is it really wanted to just fall apart when transferring to the pie plate, so a little tricky there. Pie crust came out light and flaky. To me, this recipe was not quite enough for a deep-dish double crust pie, but a little more than needed for one crust. Saved the scraps from the 2 pies made with this recipe and had about enough for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States