French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Thank you for an excellent pie crust recipe! Making a pie crust from scratch is often a daunting task, especially for the inexperienced (like me). This one couldn't have been simpler. The only change I made was to use butter-flavor shortening. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Easy peasy lemon squeezy! My first real successful pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Easy, quick crust with a yummy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is the pie crust recipe I have been using for years (I was passed on to me by my grandmother), except I use milk instead of the water and I add a pinch of baking soda. I usually make a large recipe and freeze the (uncooked) leftovers in ziplock bags. Believe it or not, I think it's even better and flakier after it's been frozen!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Excellent. I bake quite often, I have never had a go-to pie crust recipe, now I think that I do! I rushed through this without proper chilling in a warm kitchen, I had to re roll the same crust 3 times because of my impatience, that usually spells doom for a pie crust, you are almost guaranteed a tough crust. The vinegar in this crust took care of that problem and helped yield a tender crust in spite of my overworking. This is now my go-to crust recipe. I don't know why I have been so hesitant to use a recipe with vinegar in it, but I am now a convert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
first time trying to make pie crust...turned out ok for the first time. Will definitely try again. Is very flakey and has good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This crust recipe changed my life! Before I found this recipe, I was timid and unsure, a Sissy Girl (when it came to pies and especially the crust). This recipe tastes great, it's flaky, very easy to handle, very forgiving of mistakes and even stores well in the fridge for several days. Now, I am Amazon Woman of the Pie-Making Tribe! I have used this recipe at least a dozen times since I found it 2 months ago. I even left the sugar out and used it for a deep dish chicken pot pie. The only minor problem I had was I had to use at least double the water to get the dough to hold together. But, hey, when it did, it was perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I am so excited that the first time I made pie crust, I used this recipe...it was so easy to work with the dough and so yummy!! Thanks for sharing this! I did chill it for about 45 mins and used all the water in the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This is an EXCELLENT pastry crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 479) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States