French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I made an apple pie with this crust on Christmas. It was a wonderful dough, very easy to make and use. It even tasted good two days later. Will be using this crust again to make pop tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I have not made pie crust for maybe 30 years or so because I believe the crust makes or breaks the pie and couldn't see the use of making a tough and dry crust when I could get a better one frozen. Well I have to tell you I will never buy a pie crust again. This crust was tasty and flaky winning me compliments from my hubby and dinner guests. Did take advice of another reviewer and after mixing with fork till it held together, I put it in cling wrap and mixed till I got a ball of dough. I then put it between 2 sheets of waxed paper, rolled it out and Voila! Thanks TJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I was a little hesitant at first, really, an egg?? Silly me, this is the best pie crust I have ever tried. I mixed until it was crumbly and put in the zip lock bag and formed a ball, then refrigerated it for about an hour. A bit hard to work as it is so flaky...but worth the effort. Top of my list for pie crusts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I have made this pie crust many times and really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Absolute best ever. I used this for dozens of pies over the last 5 years. Excellant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Let me start by saying, I hate when people review a recipe after they've changed just about everything about it. Although, I did make a couple tiny changes, I didn't change it drastically. I used 1/2 shortening & 1/2 butter, cut the salt to 3/4t. and replaced 1/3 of the AP flour with whole wheat flour (as with all of my baked goods and homemade pastas). I used it for apple dumplings. The crust was very good, tender and had great flavor. The only complaint I have is that it was hard to work with. I had a heck of a time getting it wrapped around the apples without tearing it. I eventually did and the outcome was absolutely delicious! I'm sure this crust would be better suited to a pie, but I'm glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I just deleted all my recipes for pie crusts ..... this one is perfect. Easy to work with does not fall apart when rolling it out ... and delicios and flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Print this out and keep it! You will have people raving about this crust. Excellent, easy and tasty. Nothing like that awful stuff you can buy in the grocery store. Made this while dinner was cooking and put in the fridge to rest, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I didn't change a thing about this recipe! It makes a fantastic crust! I used this for a sweet apple pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This was almost the exact recipe I used years ago and lost. It's a great pastry to work with. However I found it way too salty! Almost threw it out because of it. I think 1/2 - 3/4 tsp would be enough. You can also substitute brown sugar for the white sugar for a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States