French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
I love to bake but I have never been able to totally "master" a pie crust. Something always goes wrong. We got our hands on a huge bunch of fresh picked farm cherries and I really could just taste a cherry pie - although I feared my usual crust failure. I took a stab at this, I chilled lard, and used a farm fresh egg from one of my lovely chooks. This was the BEST pie our family has ever eaten, at least made by me and not Marie Calendar. :) I would have never thought you could get a crust like this without butter. I was afraid of the vinegar too, but it is magic. I was careful to barely work the dough together, I put the crust back in the fridge for a while before baking my beautiful cherry pie. MMMMMMMMM I can still smell that baking in the oven!! yum. A KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelovescheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
This is the first pie crust that did not fall apart, when I put it in the dish. I am a new be to cooking pie. I made rhubard, strawberry and blueberry pie. I am 66 years old and had my first rhubard pie, I have been missing so much in life. I did use butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
I usually have bad luck with crust, but this was so good and easy to work with. The only thing I did different was use butter flavored shortening and I added more water then what it called for. It did tend to brown on the edges rather quickly, but I just put foil around it. In the end it was amazing....I will always use this pie crust!! Thank-you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I am SUPER picky about pie crust. I usually eat around it. This crust is amazing! Super flaky and cooks up so nice!!! I can't say how happy I am to have it. I couldn't get it to ball up so I left it crumbly and put it in the fridge for 10+ min while I prepped my pie. When I took it out I squished it and rolled it out. Worked great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Koekje
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
OMG..............I wish I could give this recipe 10 stars. The BEST crust recipe I have ever tried. So short and delicate. This is my "go to recipe" for my fruit pies from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I made this pie crust recipe on Saturday, February 28th. The crust to my pine tarts came out so flaky I was totally surprised compared to a recipe I used the previous Saturday which was okay but did not have the flakiness I was looking for in my crust. I was a little skeptical but decided to try it since so many people gave it five stars. I was not disappointed at all. This recipe like many mentioned in their review is a keeper. If you want flaky crusts to your desserts you must try this recipe. I used butter flavored shortening so I did not add salt. The butter in the shortening gave the crust a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I made an apple pie with this crust on Christmas. It was a wonderful dough, very easy to make and use. It even tasted good two days later. Will be using this crust again to make pop tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I have not made pie crust for maybe 30 years or so because I believe the crust makes or breaks the pie and couldn't see the use of making a tough and dry crust when I could get a better one frozen. Well I have to tell you I will never buy a pie crust again. This crust was tasty and flaky winning me compliments from my hubby and dinner guests. Did take advice of another reviewer and after mixing with fork till it held together, I put it in cling wrap and mixed till I got a ball of dough. I then put it between 2 sheets of waxed paper, rolled it out and Voila! Thanks TJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I was a little hesitant at first, really, an egg?? Silly me, this is the best pie crust I have ever tried. I mixed until it was crumbly and put in the zip lock bag and formed a ball, then refrigerated it for about an hour. A bit hard to work as it is so flaky...but worth the effort. Top of my list for pie crusts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I have made this pie crust many times and really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States