French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
This is the best pie crust. I used all butter instead of shortening. It was relatively easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Beth Keck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dhkeane
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
I have made this several times and each time I received rave reviews. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
Great pie crust recipe!Flaky,had great flavor and easy to work with.Made it in the food processor,only took 5 minutes...a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
The best crust I have ever tasted. I add just a dash of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARIEN1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
I love to bake but I have never been able to totally "master" a pie crust. Something always goes wrong. We got our hands on a huge bunch of fresh picked farm cherries and I really could just taste a cherry pie - although I feared my usual crust failure. I took a stab at this, I chilled lard, and used a farm fresh egg from one of my lovely chooks. This was the BEST pie our family has ever eaten, at least made by me and not Marie Calendar. :) I would have never thought you could get a crust like this without butter. I was afraid of the vinegar too, but it is magic. I was careful to barely work the dough together, I put the crust back in the fridge for a while before baking my beautiful cherry pie. MMMMMMMMM I can still smell that baking in the oven!! yum. A KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelovescheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
This is the first pie crust that did not fall apart, when I put it in the dish. I am a new be to cooking pie. I made rhubard, strawberry and blueberry pie. I am 66 years old and had my first rhubard pie, I have been missing so much in life. I did use butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
I usually have bad luck with crust, but this was so good and easy to work with. The only thing I did different was use butter flavored shortening and I added more water then what it called for. It did tend to brown on the edges rather quickly, but I just put foil around it. In the end it was amazing....I will always use this pie crust!! Thank-you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I am SUPER picky about pie crust. I usually eat around it. This crust is amazing! Super flaky and cooks up so nice!!! I can't say how happy I am to have it. I couldn't get it to ball up so I left it crumbly and put it in the fridge for 10+ min while I prepped my pie. When I took it out I squished it and rolled it out. Worked great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Koekje
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
OMG..............I wish I could give this recipe 10 stars. The BEST crust recipe I have ever tried. So short and delicate. This is my "go to recipe" for my fruit pies from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I made this pie crust recipe on Saturday, February 28th. The crust to my pine tarts came out so flaky I was totally surprised compared to a recipe I used the previous Saturday which was okay but did not have the flakiness I was looking for in my crust. I was a little skeptical but decided to try it since so many people gave it five stars. I was not disappointed at all. This recipe like many mentioned in their review is a keeper. If you want flaky crusts to your desserts you must try this recipe. I used butter flavored shortening so I did not add salt. The butter in the shortening gave the crust a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States