French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2000
This recipe came from a friend when I was 13. She used it to win a blue ribbon at the fair. She was also 13. I tried it and for 35 years I've been winning with my family. Easy to make and always turns out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dansville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2000
Excellent, easy to handle and freezes very well. Great for all of the cooks that are afraid of piecrust failures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
Makes an excellent crust for pumkin pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
I used this pie crust for Mother's Day and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
It's tasty, attractive, and produces a thicker crust than I've been using (which I like!). It held up to blueberries without getting soggy, and the bottom browned nicely. And the best thing: it's easy to work with - I've actually been in tears before while rolling out pie crusts that just won't hold together, have crumbly edges, rip when you transfer to pie pan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
I used this for Tarte Aux Pommes and it was just perfect! Easy to work with, nice and thick. Had a great flavor, I bet it would work great for any pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
I don't know whether I did this wrong or what, but I was awful! (I followed the recipe exactly and I'm good at baking, so I have no idea) It was hard and tasted like cardboard. I feel bad posting a bad review, but because of it I had two pumpkin pies (made with real pumpkin, no less) that I couldn't use. My family and I just ate the pumpkin out of the shell and threw the pastry away. On top of this, it was so crumbly and dry that it made a huge mess every time somebody cut a piece. I can't tell you how many times I had to wipe the counter and sweep the floor! Save yourself the aggravation and make a basic crust with 2 cups flour, 1 teaspoon of salt, 1 stick cold butter and 1/2 cup ice water. You know the drill from there. Much better and much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
Very flaky and light - I used 3/4 shortening and 1/4 butter. A pastry knife (multiple blades) makes this dough in a jiffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pieter B.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
Excellent pie crust recipe! I'd never made a pie crust using vinegar before; now I don't think I'll make one without it! Light, tender dough that's very easy to work with. Great for lattice top pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
This was my second pie crust ever and I came out perfect. My husband took one bite and his eyes lit up!! I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States