French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Excellent pie crust. Very easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Fantastic dessert pie crust!! I substituted 2 sticks of salted sweet cream butter for the shortning and omitted the salt and the crust came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Great recipe... I didn't add the sugar and used it on my chicken pot pie recipe. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: El Centro, California, USA
Photo by Amanda P
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Great recipe! I needed a little more water than the 5 tablespoons called for but Im not sure if that was my problem or the recipes. Also, I egg washed the dough once on the pie and sprinkled with sugar. Would use this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Perfect every time. I don't make pies very often, so when I do I need a basic, easy, no fail recipe for crust. Not only does this one give me that, but I also get compliments on it every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Yum, this was amazing, I'll definitely make it again, I used it for an apple pie and used half shortening and half butter for the fats. My usual recipe is just as yummy but more difficult to roll out and has more shrinkage. This will be my new go-to pie crust recipe. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Attempted to make this but failed in doing so. I still plan on doing this one as it sounds like one of the best. I have to blame myself for failing. Guess thats what happens when your a novice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
The crust was delish - best that I have ever made. I had to add a little more water that what was indicated to get the dough to ball up, but other than that everything was perfect. I will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Billingsley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very good. It rolls out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ablaine22
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was my very first attempt at making a pie or pie crust. I chose this crust because of its ratings and I thought the picture looked very pretty. It turned out amazing my first try. I followed the recipe exactly except I added 1 tsp water in the end. I read a lot of the reviews before I started. The other reviewers are right, this dough looks scary! But thanks to other reviewers I did not worry about it at all, I just went along with it. I also used 2 forks to mix the wet and dry (to limit the handling) and used butter flavored Crisco, per some of the other reviews. I made a full top crust and it looked beautiful when it was fully baked! Not to mention it was delicious, it was the *perfect* flavor and flakiness. My husband absolutely loved it and told me it was the best crust he had ever had, along with the pie. This is no light compliment because his mom is able to cook like a champ and makes all of her own stuff from scratch. She is an amazing cook, and he would not just throw out a compliment like that. I paired this crust with “Apple Pie by Grandma Ople.” This will for sure be my “go to” crust for fruit pies from now on just because of how awesome it is. I have also never had a better crust on a fruit pie. A+++ rating and definitely will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ablaine22

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States