French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I've never made my own roll out pie crust before so when i thought i'd try i was nervous about it turning out. I used this recipe and it was AMAZING. The only different about i did was to used vanilla instead of vinegar (because i did not have any, otherwise i probably would've). My fresh apricot pie was so delicious and flakey! It turned out better than if i'd bought it at a bakery! My husband was so impressed... Will definitely use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I just made a delicious chicken pot pie with this recipe. I replaced shortening with lard, cause someone told me you can't make a good pie without lard. This was also my first pie crust ever. I love it. Flaky, crusty....everything you want in a pie crust. My fiancee says that now I can make that pie crust, he needs an apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Excellent pie crust. Very easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Fantastic dessert pie crust!! I substituted 2 sticks of salted sweet cream butter for the shortning and omitted the salt and the crust came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Great recipe... I didn't add the sugar and used it on my chicken pot pie recipe. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: El Centro, California, USA
Photo by Amanda P
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Great recipe! I needed a little more water than the 5 tablespoons called for but Im not sure if that was my problem or the recipes. Also, I egg washed the dough once on the pie and sprinkled with sugar. Would use this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Perfect every time. I don't make pies very often, so when I do I need a basic, easy, no fail recipe for crust. Not only does this one give me that, but I also get compliments on it every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Yum, this was amazing, I'll definitely make it again, I used it for an apple pie and used half shortening and half butter for the fats. My usual recipe is just as yummy but more difficult to roll out and has more shrinkage. This will be my new go-to pie crust recipe. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Attempted to make this but failed in doing so. I still plan on doing this one as it sounds like one of the best. I have to blame myself for failing. Guess thats what happens when your a novice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
The crust was delish - best that I have ever made. I had to add a little more water that what was indicated to get the dough to ball up, but other than that everything was perfect. I will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Billingsley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States