French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I made this following other's suggestions, one batch with shortening, one with butter...both came out flaky. I used one for two pies, and one batch for chicken pot pies (less sugar). Easy to make....and I kept one in the frig for several hours before baking, still came out great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This crust was very easy to put together, especially using the food processor. Just mixed the dry ingredients with the butter and shortening (used a little of each) in the machine, then added the blended egg/water/vinegar mixture in the little 'drizzle' cap and pulsed a few more times. Was very careful to not overwork and it came together very nicely and was easy to roll. My only problem with the crust is it really wanted to just fall apart when transferring to the pie plate, so a little tricky there. Pie crust came out light and flaky. To me, this recipe was not quite enough for a deep-dish double crust pie, but a little more than needed for one crust. Saved the scraps from the 2 pies made with this recipe and had about enough for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Beautiful! Perfect! I used 50/50 butter and shortening. It was my first crust. Not easy to work with but oh so worth the trouble! It ended up thicker than it's "supposed to be" for a pie, due to my inexperience and it's uncooked texture, but it was so good and the extra crust looked wonderful. I'll make the same "mistake" the next time I use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Crust was great but required A LOT more water here in Colorado. After I figured out the lack of moisture everything worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjwellscvt

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Best pie crust ever! Will definitely use again. Thanks for adding to site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Excellent flakey pie crust. Makes 2 pie crusts. Use a few more tablespoons of water than was called for and the crust was a bit crumbly but it still came out fine. You could probably make this and store in fridge for a few hours or over night if you want to make it in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Followed recipe exactly and turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This is my new crust recipe - period. As mentioned by others, once you find this one you can stop looking! I used the tip of reducing the sugar to 1 Tbsp. for savory pies and can't wait to make a fruit pie with the recipe as written. The vinegar adds such a nice tang. I followed the tip about pulsing ingredients in the food processor and just pouring the egg/vinegar/water mixture in. Also, to keep from overworking the dough I used the tip about putting the dough into plastic wrap and molding into a ball. Great tips and great results. Thank you everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
It won first place in a berry pie contest! Super yummy and flakey. We followed the tips to use ice cold water and to not pat it out but to put it between two pieces of Saran Wrap. Oh and we used only butter. It will be our go-to recipe for a pie crust from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Very nice pastry dough and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina_Papou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States