French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This is a great recipe but do note that this isnt as sweet as I expected, I grew up in England where the pudding pastry is sweet- this to my taste, was great for quiche not the apple pie I wanted.(in hind sight, I added a bit too much vinegar- so thats probably why its tasted less sweet) In the end dissaster was averted by making the custard sauce sweeter than usual. That being said the texture, consistency and useability are outta this world. I ommited the egg , as we have allergies and and it didnt harm the pastry at all.In fact we ditched the shortening- for pure Norwegian butter. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I used all unsalted butter in this recipe since I didn't have any shortening on hand. It was beautiful and de-li-cious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This crust was fantastic! I was a bit shocked to see vinegar listed in the ingredients but,it was fine. The crust came out perfectly crusty and even had a bunch left over for a mini pie. Definitely reccomend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen914
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I made my first apple pie with this recipe a few days ago ('Perfect Apple Pie' recipe from this site) and it was PERFECT! Only thing I did that the recipe did not suggest is I ended up having to keep it (plastic wrapped) in the fridge for about 4-5 hours before rolling/baking. Do not worry too much about overworking the dough in this recipe as although with the intial mixing I worked it as little as possible, I ended up rolling out the bottom part of the crust 3x (for reasons below it fell apart the first two times) and it still turned out flawlessly! I do suggest that anyone that makes this recipe in a hot kitchen: (whether it's because you're cooking other things or because you're cursed like me and your air conditioner doesn't work, or both) to try to roll out the dough as soon as possible when out of fridge (maybe putting it in the freezer for 10-15 minutes would help a bit) as the reason my bottom crust kept falling apart on me when I tried to place it was because it was too warm. Despite my placing issues, this crust was FABULOUS and helped me make the most perfect first Apple Pie. Normally when I bought (past tense because I wont be doing THAT again) apple pies at the store pre-made, I never wanted to eat the outer extra crust but not w/ this recipe!, there wasn't a crumb left! Try this recipe just as is and you wont regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Tried this crust recipe with a fresh blueberry filling. Amazingly flavorful. Who knew one egg and a bit of vinegar would make such a difference?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
THE best pie crust I have found by far! You don't have to do anything fancy with it. No chilling the shortening, water, bowl, etc and it will still come out perfect. I just used my food processor and it was so easy and come out delicious. Def my new go-to crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I can't seem to understand what went so terribly wrong, both times I tried this recipe. I made it once early in the day, and it was dry and crumbly, so much that I couldn't even roll it out and get it in the pan. I tried adding water, but it didn't work. I almost went to a different recipe, but thought it must have been something that I did wrong because of all of the high reviews. So I gave this one another shot. Same thing - dry, crumbly. I made a different recipe and it came out fantastic. Not sure why this recipe just won't work for me, but I won't be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I will use the recipe time and again. It was fantastic. First I made Three Berry Pie from this site and then I made Strawberry Cheese Pie also from this site from the same batch. The crust was thick and flaky even rolling 2 bottom crusts and a top crust. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Had high hopes for this recipe, but it came out more crunchy than flakey. I handled the dough very little, as I've always done to achieve a flakey texture. I think perhaps there is just too much liquid in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This recipe makes the perfect pie crust. For ease and speed, I made it in my food processor, processing just until mixed. The crust was tender, had good flavor, and browned nicely. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States