French Pastry Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This is a superb pie crust! I recommend browsing these comments (as I did), to cater this crust to your preference. But the distilled white vinegar absolutely makes it spectacular! And with the perimeters of using butter/shortening etc... you can make it YOUR perfect pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by biblesensei

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
The best pie crust I have ever made! I can not steer away from this recipe. I've tried others and my pie tasters notice the difference. This crust has the right amount of flakliness that once you try it you will be automatically hooked! Been making this since 2007 and it has never let me down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I'm 68 and have NEVER been able to make a pie crust - every recipe fell apart. A young 34 year old friend from church made a pie and this was the recipe. She gave the recipe to me and I followed it exactly. PERFECT EVERY TIME! I follow it exactly. I use my pastry blade to make sure I break up the Crisco very well and it's in tiny pieces, then when the liquids are added, just lightly mix it and form the ball. Don't overwork this - just when it's formed together, it's ready. So, learning to make a pie crust from scratch is off my bucket list. Need more on that list. I made a fresh apple pie with this recipe when my sister's came to visit = it was warm and they were thrilled. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxyquilter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Great light crust. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VH
Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
The best pie crust ever. EVER. The only problem I had was handling it. Eventually it turned out perfect, but be careful and don't get frustrated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This crust tok me a couple tries to get perfect, although after reading the tips and tricks I realized where I was going wrong. Once I got that figured out I was off to the races! I do find it makes a bit more than one 9" double crust pie. It makes almost 3 crusts total. I simply freeze my remainders.This crust does not do well over worked or over floured. It has a slight hint of sweet and my taste testers describe it as vaguely short-bread-like in it's taste. I halve the sugar when using for my meat pies. I've tried other crusts on this site but this one still stands out as the best for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khueggen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
The best pie crust I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYANDYMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kewanee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conover, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Wonderful crust! I used it for the apple pie I was making. (grandma ople's look it up!!) it was a little hard to roll but that could be user error. Either way delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My family really enjoyed this crust. It has a very nice texture and flavor. Great for apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sningram

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willows, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
DO not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States