French Onion Soup with Celeriac Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
This was good. Well seasoned. Unfortunately, I made a special trip to a grocery store 20 minutes away to buy celeriac and when I got home I found out it was fennel. Oh well. I was disappointed but made due. I just chopped some celery fine and added it with the onions. I don't know what celeriac would add to this soup because it was good without it. This was not too salty, not too winey, just right. You'll have to cook the onions a long time to get them right (about a half hour) but that's important. The roasted garlic butter was a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I love this soup and the celeriac really makes it something different! I use only beef broth and put fresh parsley in. I also cut the onions into long thin strips before sauteing which gives the soup a great texture! This has become my standard soup to make when someone's sick, since the garlic (I put a whole head in) and onions make great immune boosters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CERAWALLACE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Recipe submitter popping in to say, fresh fennel would change the flavor quite a bit but would probably be a great addition. Might add to immune boosting too, same with anything in the onion/garlic family. Celery root is a big round ugly lumpy beige root, usually about the size of a grapefruit. It's a specialty veg, might have to ask your store to order. Can be kind of expensive -- I usually only buy it for holidays -- but it's a nice addition to soups and mashes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Picayune, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
My husband absolutely LOVED this soup! I had purchased some celeriac and came across this recipe by using the "ingredient search" function. What luck! This was an easy, tasty and unique approach to a classic soup. I was sceptical at first about adding red wine, but the flavor it added was rich and hearty. I didn't have any beef stock on hand, so I used 3 cups of chicken broth, 1 cup of water and 2 beef bullion cubes. It turned out fine, though perhaps a little salty. I'll try using beef broth (or just one bullion cube) next time. I used Gruyere to melt atop the soup, which melts nicely and isn't a strong as "Swiss" cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.g

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was great and not a lot of work. The garlic butter is a nice addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is a nice soup and the celeriac adds a nice fresh flavour to it. The onions and celeriac need to be cooked for at least 30 minutes or longer to get them nice and golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Wonderful. Didn't have red wine on hand but added a bit of vinegar and sugar. Also two small hot peppers to spice it up. Served with a chicken in buttery olive sauce, this made a heavenly Sunday lunch. Luckily here in my village in France we have a local farmer's market where celeriac is the single least expensive item per weight. Merci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik Campano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darien, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I really liked this soup! It was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I didn't enjoy this recipe. If I were to make it again, I would thinly slice the onions and celeraic, not chop them. I assumed they would dissolve more being chopped. Instead I had chunky, almost stew-like soup. Maybe increase the beef or vegetable broth to help with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I wanted to love this recipe, and I actually thought it was quite good, but no one in my family was very enthusiastic about it. It smelled great simmering this afternoon. Used gluten-free French rolls as we have celiac family members, the underside disintegrated into the soup, but it made it kind of like a ribolitta. The taste of the celeriac was complimentary, but I don't think I would go the Cajun seasoning route again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States