French Onion Soup XI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
This was a big hit with my friends! Everyone loved it! On demand, I ended up making this the next week for another party! Thanks!***Update. Almost 5 years later I am still making this recipe. I've tried others and still come back to this. However, I do add a dash of thyme, a splash of Worcestershire, sugar to onions and flour to onions when almost done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
It is VERY unusual when I don't doctor up a recipe. In the case of this one, it was not necessary. Did add a bit more dry mustard and black pepper than called for, and used Feta instead of Gruyere (didn't have any). It was VERY, VERY DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This soup is absolutely delicious. I love the addition of the beer (rather than the wine that many onion soup recipes use). I used Newcastle brown ale and it added a nice taste to the recipe. Thanks for a great recipe, will be added to my permanent collection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This has been a hit whenever I serve it. I never use large sweet onions, so I don't need as many as the recipie calls for. A cup measurement would be nice. I also put a little worchestershire sauce in to add a litte more zip. It's a great soup that I always have the ingredients on hand for. (Who doesn't have at least one stray bottle of beer in their 'fridge?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Excellent flavor and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I thought the onions would be over-powering, but the beer and bay leaf blended in great. I'd definitely make this a million more times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This is a great recipe, I like the flavor contributed by the beer (I used a lager)...it is a nice change from the consumme flavor. Perfect for a cold fall afternoon. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Very good! I used low sodium beef broth and then added a little worchestshire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I replaced the beef broth with beef consomme - it gave the soup a rich smooth flavor. this is one of the best onion soups I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This recipe's definately a keeper. The taste is wonderful, I also added a splash of Worchestershire, presentation is also key here. Spend the extra to buy the soup crocks and you'll feel like you're eating in a fancy restuarant every time you make this wonderful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States