French Onion Soup XI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I had to make a quickie dinner tonight and decided on soup being that my daughter Ashley is home with a really nasty cold, coupled with the fact that it's freezing here in N.J.!! I'm not complaining because I love winter and snow; and we've had a lot of both! Anyway, my gang went crazy over this soup as they always order F.O. soup as an appetizer when we go out for dinner, however these were the changes I made: I only used four large onions, two small cans of low salt beef broth, two cans of beef consomme', a tablespoon of sugar added to the onion while sauteeing and a tablespoon of flour just before the onion was done browning. I used Guinness beer which gave it a great flavor. Thanks so much Carolyne for cluing us in on the dry mustard and beer additons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
This was a big hit with my friends! Everyone loved it! On demand, I ended up making this the next week for another party! Thanks!***Update. Almost 5 years later I am still making this recipe. I've tried others and still come back to this. However, I do add a dash of thyme, a splash of Worcestershire, sugar to onions and flour to onions when almost done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I've tried many french onion soup recipes, and this one was pretty good. I reduced the number of onions to 6 and I added two tablespoons of flour to the onions right before they finished cooking. I used a brown ale and it gave the soup a really good flavor. I added a little salt at the end, but that was just my own personal taste. I would definitely try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCARLETT1211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This soup was very flavorful I added a splash of red wine for color. I did use Vidallia onions which made the soup far too sweet. I would stick to white or yellow onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I have never made French Onion Soup before this recipe is not only easy, it tastes fantastic! My husband has been wanting me to make French onion soup because its his favorite. Well my husband said that it was the best he's ever had, even better than at a restaurant. I highly recommend this recipe & will be making it again & again! Thank-you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This has been a hit whenever I serve it. I never use large sweet onions, so I don't need as many as the recipie calls for. A cup measurement would be nice. I also put a little worchestershire sauce in to add a litte more zip. It's a great soup that I always have the ingredients on hand for. (Who doesn't have at least one stray bottle of beer in their 'fridge?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
It is VERY unusual when I don't doctor up a recipe. In the case of this one, it was not necessary. Did add a bit more dry mustard and black pepper than called for, and used Feta instead of Gruyere (didn't have any). It was VERY, VERY DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Very good recipe! Seasonings are always what I am most tentitive about and it is what makes a good dish great. I used a half bottle of Bass Dark Ale, a little sugar to brown up the onions nicely, and low sodium broth, which then needed some salt to bring it where it needed to be--all of that because of my choices, not because of Carolyne's recipe. Very good, Carolyne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This soup is absolutely delicious. I love the addition of the beer (rather than the wine that many onion soup recipes use). I used Newcastle brown ale and it added a nice taste to the recipe. Thanks for a great recipe, will be added to my permanent collection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
The soup tastes delicious. However adding 10 onions is absurd. I added 4 and a half and it was plenty. I added more beef broth than called for too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States