French Onion Soup XI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This was pretty good. For me, it wasn't the best flavor for french onion soup, but that's my taste. It was good and I enjoyed it, but I have had better. I liked the change in flavor, but I prefer more standard broths wiht the sherry/wine flavor for this soup. Glad I tried it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This is a great recipe, I like the flavor contributed by the beer (I used a lager)...it is a nice change from the consumme flavor. Perfect for a cold fall afternoon. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I thought the onions would be over-powering, but the beer and bay leaf blended in great. I'd definitely make this a million more times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
It is VERY unusual when I don't doctor up a recipe. In the case of this one, it was not necessary. Did add a bit more dry mustard and black pepper than called for, and used Feta instead of Gruyere (didn't have any). It was VERY, VERY DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
This was a big hit with my friends! Everyone loved it! On demand, I ended up making this the next week for another party! Thanks!***Update. Almost 5 years later I am still making this recipe. I've tried others and still come back to this. However, I do add a dash of thyme, a splash of Worcestershire, sugar to onions and flour to onions when almost done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Excellent flavor and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Very good recipe! Seasonings are always what I am most tentitive about and it is what makes a good dish great. I used a half bottle of Bass Dark Ale, a little sugar to brown up the onions nicely, and low sodium broth, which then needed some salt to bring it where it needed to be--all of that because of my choices, not because of Carolyne's recipe. Very good, Carolyne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
Nothing special. Made it as recommended, used Bass Ale for the beer. Broth wasn't as rich as i've had in restaurants. Used swanson beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This has been a hit whenever I serve it. I never use large sweet onions, so I don't need as many as the recipie calls for. A cup measurement would be nice. I also put a little worchestershire sauce in to add a litte more zip. It's a great soup that I always have the ingredients on hand for. (Who doesn't have at least one stray bottle of beer in their 'fridge?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I had to make a quickie dinner tonight and decided on soup being that my daughter Ashley is home with a really nasty cold, coupled with the fact that it's freezing here in N.J.!! I'm not complaining because I love winter and snow; and we've had a lot of both! Anyway, my gang went crazy over this soup as they always order F.O. soup as an appetizer when we go out for dinner, however these were the changes I made: I only used four large onions, two small cans of low salt beef broth, two cans of beef consomme', a tablespoon of sugar added to the onion while sauteeing and a tablespoon of flour just before the onion was done browning. I used Guinness beer which gave it a great flavor. Thanks so much Carolyne for cluing us in on the dry mustard and beer additons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States