French Onion Soup X Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Added 1 tablespoon each of red wine & balsamic vinegar, mixed with 1/2 teaspoon sugar. I omitted the flour. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cree8if1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I was going for vegetarian instead of low-cal. I made these changes: I browned the onions in 3 tablespoons of butter, added 1 teaspoon of garlic powder to the other herbs, added 1 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar with the veggie broth, and used a slice of swiss cheese instead of the parmesan. Brought it to New Year's Eve dinner party and it was dang good. Good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This recipe is so easy and delicious. I did add some beef bouillon granules to the soup, but it's good without them too. I shared this with some co-workers who also loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. Admittedly, I made it with beef broth because that's what I had in the pantry; next time, I'll make it using the vegetable broth. Also, I used the Vidalia onions which I had on hand. Typically, I prefer them to other onions, but in this instance, they made the broth quite sweet. I would agree with the reviewer who suggested omitting the sugar if you are using sweet onions. To counter that sweetness, I added a 1/2 teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce, a bit of sea salt, and an extra grinding of black pepper. These minor points aside, it is an easy, delicious recipe, and a real "keeper." Many thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Fantastic! I didn't have parmesan, so I used asiago, and used croutons instead of toast. This is superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I substituted homemade chicken broth and mozzarella for the like ingredients and omitted the brandy as a personal preference. To me, it’s not as rich as a beef French onion soup but this was a very respectable lighter version. I developed the fond three times (tip I learned on America’s Test Kitchen) and it was very flavorful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I subbed this recipe with canned French Onion Soup to make Salisbury Steak (recipe also from this sight). This worked great and even the picky husband loved it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
VERY tasty! I did use a dab of butter in with the 1/4 cup broth to cook the onions. I've made french onion before and I believe the buttery taste of the onions lend to the flavor of the soup. I know its only a tsp but it added a hint of a buttery flavor. Other then that I used it to the T and it was fantastic. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Absolutely perfect. The only thing I changed was that I added mushrooms to enrich the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
We love it , good 1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States