French Onion Soup X Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
Very good, flavorful recipe for french onion soup without beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Perfect! The broth of this soup is rich and tasty. I omitted the sugar, even though there's hardly any, but I don't like too-sweet French Onion Soups, and I used Vidalia onions, which are sweet on their own. I slathered some minced garlic on the toast, instead of just rubbing a clove, since we love garlic in this house. You may miss the gooey mouth-feel from the lack of gobs of cheese, but the flavor is still really good, and this is much healthier. Be careful not to add too much black pepper without taste-testing, as it is quite noticeable, but not excessive, as long as you like pepper. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYCAT1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Meadows, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belle Mead, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
OUTSTANDING Just as it is- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
It was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Didn't need to change a thing... was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
We love it , good 1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Absolutely perfect. The only thing I changed was that I added mushrooms to enrich the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
VERY tasty! I did use a dab of butter in with the 1/4 cup broth to cook the onions. I've made french onion before and I believe the buttery taste of the onions lend to the flavor of the soup. I know its only a tsp but it added a hint of a buttery flavor. Other then that I used it to the T and it was fantastic. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I subbed this recipe with canned French Onion Soup to make Salisbury Steak (recipe also from this sight). This worked great and even the picky husband loved it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I substituted homemade chicken broth and mozzarella for the like ingredients and omitted the brandy as a personal preference. To me, it’s not as rich as a beef French onion soup but this was a very respectable lighter version. I developed the fond three times (tip I learned on America’s Test Kitchen) and it was very flavorful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States