French Onion Soup With Browned Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2000
I needed a soup to bring to our church with no meat or meat stock. I was delighted to find this recipe. It was delicious!! I had to triple the recipe and the soup was gone in a half an hour!I added shallots and chives for a variety of onions. Plus I served the soup with homemade croutons and grated jarlsburg cheese. Make it!!! You'll love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2000
If I can make this, anyone can. I am not very domestic and I hate cooking. I made a mistake and added more sherry than the recipe called for and it still turned out great. I got raves from my mom! Thanks Shonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2000
I have made many different Onion soup receipes, this is the very best one, the only CHANGE I made was 1/2 the broth being dark beef broth, better color. Thank you Shonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2000
This soup was great! My whole family loved it! I like how this recipe didn't have all the oil and margarine that other recipes do. I added fat free mozarella on top of the soup, then put the bread on, added a little more mozarella, sprinkled some Parmesian cheese and put the bowls in the oven to broil until the cheese melted and slightly browned. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2000
I thought this soup was very "oniony". I cut the number of onions down to 3 and added more broth and it was still to onion-heavy. If you are partial to a more "brothy" french onion soup, try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
Use fresh garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
This soup was extremely "onion-y". If I make it again, I would cut down on the onions and increase the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
This is the very best onion soup I ever had! Sooooooo tasty...awesome! Try it, you'll LOVE it. Thank you , it's a keeper!! Honey-B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
Very Delicious Soup. Tatse better than I had in restaurants. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
This soup had promise, but there were FAR too many onions, and I love onions. Next time i'll use 2 1/2 onions instead of 4, and more broth to avoid this problem. Otherwise very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States