French Onion Soup With Browned Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was really good. I used cooking sherry but the onions didn't really turn into a paste. I had to keep adding sherry so that garlic, onions & flour didn't stick. I might try adding a little olive oil next time around! I topped it w/ the toasted french bread & a slice of provolone, broiled to melt cheese. Very filling and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burgoon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I do not like French Onion soup, but my spouse does. So I decided to make this for him beacuse it looked easy. My results were fantastic! He was very pleased. I made some modifcations based on others' suggestions. I used two onions and added worchestershire sauce, sea salt and thyme. I could not find any sherry, so I used burgundy. I also used 2 c vegetable stock and 2 c mushroom broth to give it that beefy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This soup is in dire need of its missing ingredient: butter. Brown off the onions in about 1/4 cup real butter. Use a variety of onion: Red, white, yellow, and shallot. The slightly burned butter taste combined with the onions makes this dish very special. Cut a day-old glutenous crusty bread on top and cover with greuyer or emmentaler. The sherry is a great addition. My grandmother added sherry to many of her dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Shane Travis Bell
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I made this for Valentines Day, my picture is shown. Everyone loved it and it's all I head about even two years later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
The sherry made this way too sweet and I didn't even use a whole cup. It might be better with a good red wine instead but I doubt I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This came out pretty delicious! I like how light and yet still french onion-y this soup is! I followed the previous reviewers suggestions and added 8 cups of veggie broth instead of four and that seemed to have achieved a good balance between broth and onions. I also didn't have any sherry, so I substituted about 1 cup of apple cider + 2 tablespoons of red wine vinegar for it (and it came out delicious!). I also grated parmesan, cheddar and a little havarti (w/dill) cheese over the soup while it was simmering. I added about a tsp each of rosemary and thyme as well. Definitely going to make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Tasty, but ditto on too many onions, not enough broth. While making it I didn't think this was going to be the case, but found others reviewers were right! I'd still make it again, only adjust the quantities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I made this the other night. I changed the recipe for two people on the website. Half way through making it I discovered that the amount of soup would barely fill one sm-medium size soup bowl. I had to end up adding tons more vegetable broth. I love onions but it was onion overload. I do highly recommend what MK618 suggested about adding mozzarella and parm cheese! That was the only thing that made it possible for me to eat. If I were to make this recipe again I would strain the majority of the onions out before putting into soup bowls. I think I would really enjoy it then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I thought this recipe was wonderful. I did happen to make some modifications. I added more broth and added vegetarian worchestire sauce. This adds wonderful depth and flavor. YUM!!! This is a total do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
great easy to put together! ****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States