French Onion Soup With Browned Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2000
I needed a soup to bring to our church with no meat or meat stock. I was delighted to find this recipe. It was delicious!! I had to triple the recipe and the soup was gone in a half an hour!I added shallots and chives for a variety of onions. Plus I served the soup with homemade croutons and grated jarlsburg cheese. Make it!!! You'll love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2000
If I can make this, anyone can. I am not very domestic and I hate cooking. I made a mistake and added more sherry than the recipe called for and it still turned out great. I got raves from my mom! Thanks Shonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2000
I have made many different Onion soup receipes, this is the very best one, the only CHANGE I made was 1/2 the broth being dark beef broth, better color. Thank you Shonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2000
This soup was great! My whole family loved it! I like how this recipe didn't have all the oil and margarine that other recipes do. I added fat free mozarella on top of the soup, then put the bread on, added a little more mozarella, sprinkled some Parmesian cheese and put the bowls in the oven to broil until the cheese melted and slightly browned. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
This is the very best onion soup I ever had! Sooooooo tasty...awesome! Try it, you'll LOVE it. Thank you , it's a keeper!! Honey-B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
Very Delicious Soup. Tatse better than I had in restaurants. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
A very tasty soup! I haven't had proper onion soup since becoming a vegetarian years ago and this one is just like I had remembered french onion soup to be. I broiled the soup in oven safe crocks with some mozzarella cheese on top of the french bread before serving. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centereach, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
As with the previous reviewer, i used vegetarian "beef" broth instead of veggie broth and only 2 large onions. I didn't have sherry so used a good red wine instead. Threw the bread on with some vegan mozzarella and broiled it for a few minutes. Everyone loved, especially me! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I didn't want to make this much soup so I mixed this recipe and the Garlic Soup recipe by Terri Lyons. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shane Travis Bell
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I made this for Valentines Day, my picture is shown. Everyone loved it and it's all I head about even two years later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States