French Onion Soup With Browned Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
very good, very garlicy! (just how we like it!) On other reviewers suggestions, I cut back the amount of onions by half, and I used beef broth for the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisporte, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Stephenville, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I didn't want to make this much soup so I mixed this recipe and the Garlic Soup recipe by Terri Lyons. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This recipe is great! I would give it 5 stars, but it took almost an hour to make. I didn't have any sherry, so I used a leftover bottle of red wine, which worked well. I first browned the onions and garlic in a little bit of olive oil, and I stirred the wine into the mixture. I also chopped up some fresh mushrooms and threw them into the wine/veggie mix. I think the mushrooms helped to add more of a "beefy" flavor. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This was just ok. Way too many onions, too much garlic, had to thin it out with quite a lot of water. It was too sweet, missing a "beefy" boullion base I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
I'm still looking for a GOOD vegan onion soup. This was not it. As others said, WAY too many onions, and I love onions. I couldn't get the garlic to brown, despite cooking twice as long as required. I might cook the garlic separately if I made it again, but I didn't think the taste was good enough to bother, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
As with the previous reviewer, i used vegetarian "beef" broth instead of veggie broth and only 2 large onions. I didn't have sherry so used a good red wine instead. Threw the bread on with some vegan mozzarella and broiled it for a few minutes. Everyone loved, especially me! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Really good onion soup! LOVED THE GARLIC!!! My house smelled like onion & garlic for days (not necessarily a bad thing!)... I took the other reviewers' suggestions and only used 2 large onions - and that was plenty. I also used vegetarian "beef" broth (purchased at a health food store) instead of vegetable broth. I found another recipe that used fresh thyme in the onion soup recipe - maybe I'll try that next time. I will definitely make this recipe (with a few modifications) again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
A very tasty soup! I haven't had proper onion soup since becoming a vegetarian years ago and this one is just like I had remembered french onion soup to be. I broiled the soup in oven safe crocks with some mozzarella cheese on top of the french bread before serving. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centereach, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
This soup had promise, but there were FAR too many onions, and I love onions. Next time i'll use 2 1/2 onions instead of 4, and more broth to avoid this problem. Otherwise very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
Very Delicious Soup. Tatse better than I had in restaurants. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States