French Onion Soup VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Really good. Onions caramelized in 30 mins. I substituted red wine and added thyme as suggested by another reviewer. The soup was really wonderful and my husband asked me to make it again. I only had whole wheat bread - which was a horrible substitute. I agree this really only serves 2 people. ( Also! Make sure you have bowls to put under the broiler before you make!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Really good the only thing I would change is adding garlic and using a combination of cheeses - I use parmesan, provolone and swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Made a few minor changes: Used vegetable broth rather than beef. Added a sprig of fresh thyme along with the bay leaves. Finished the soup with a traditional splash of brandy. I agreed with a previous reviewer that this does not really make six servings (unless you eat your soup from a custard cup). I filled two french onion soup crocks and had just enough left over for a small lunch-size serving. Also, it took over an hour for the onions to properly caramelize to a nutty brown color. At the thirty minute mark, the onions had no color at all. So give yourself a little extra time for this recipe. You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Oh my gosh, this soup is identical to the ones in the resturaunts, maybe even better! We can't seem to get enough of this ! Excellent flavor! Perfect balance of sweet and savory. This is So good. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Yummy onion soup. I used vidalia onions, only 1 bay leaf and out of necessity, Honey Brown beer in place of the wine. The beer accented the sweetness of the onions nicely. After tasting the soup, I added a pinch of thyme... Delish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This gets 5 stars b/c it is easy to make and the result is delicious - I followed the directions exactly and it was a great soup. The onions smelled up the house pretty bad though, so make sure you leave all the windows open :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christahannahmelody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Used vidalia onions, red wine, 1 cup of water, 1 bay leaf, and 1 tablespoon Worceshire sauce. All great suggestions. 6 servings did turn out to be equal to three servings. Took over an hour for the onions to cook and they still weren't brown, but by then we were too hungry to wait any longer. I don't think I sliced my onions thin enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I made this a couple nights ago and the hubby loved it. I thought it was a bit sweet but good, perhaps it was the wine I used. The only subsitution I made was vegetable broth instead of beef broth. I do agree with other reviewers about both the longer cook time for the onions and that it really only serves about 3. Good recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyMeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Personally, I wasn't a fan of this at all. Too much wine, too many bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Really simple, really good on a winter night. Used only one bay leaf and a pinch of thyme. Have made it with and without the flour and either way is good. My daughter loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States