French Onion Soup VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Really simple, really good on a winter night. Used only one bay leaf and a pinch of thyme. Have made it with and without the flour and either way is good. My daughter loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Made today. I found it to be lacking in the robust beef flavor of others I have had. Next time I will add some garlic and use all beef stock in place of water. Used a combination of cheeses which my family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
HOLY COW this was soooo good! As a child, I was never fond of onions, but last week, on an impulse, I bought 10 lbs of onions for $1.49. Then I needed to make something with them! My boyfriend had the ingenious idea to make soup! So I found this recipe and on Friday night I whipped it up. It was fantastic! The wine really added a nice touch. I used all the same ingredients, but the quantities might have varied a little. I'll be making this one again for sure! Oh, there were 2 soups leftover (with bread and cheese and everything) which we ate the next day. The bread was totally soaked with the soup liquid and it threw the whole thing into a new dimension of deliciousness! I did cook mine quite a bit longer than suggested by the recipe, about 30 minutes of cooking the onions alone, and then I boiled the soup a little to cook the onions a bit more and to reduce the liquid a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sg
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I used veggie broth and added some thyme. I prefer baking over broiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Reallygood..cook a litlle longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Really good! Onions took longer than 30 minutes, though (I only used 2). I think I simmered it too long because it was very thick but still great! I added a clove of garlic and used less wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I am really impressed with how this came out! I'm not a fan of french onion soup, but I still had to have a bowl...so good! My onions took about an hour to caramelize, and I used chicken broth instead of beef broth because it was all I had on hand. It was a little on the tangy side. My french onion soup-obsessed boyfriend preferred it this way, and thought it was a change I made 'on purpose'. I used a teeny bit less white wine and only 1 bay leave, and added salt and pepper to the onions as they were caramelizing. I also buttered the bread and sprinkled it with garlic powder before toasting in the oven. I'll definitely make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shells

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wickford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: South Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
To get a rich color and onion flavor, try placing your onion rings in a covered bowl and microwave first for 20 minutes. Transfer to a dutch onion with a little butter and cook over medium heat for about 30 minutes, stirring frequently and scraping up the brown bits. Deglaze the pot with a little water and continute to cook and stir another 6 minutes. Do this 3 times and on your final deglaze, use the wine, cook down till it evaporates, then add your broth, bay leaf or whatever and go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Onions never did get brown, not even after an hour. I thought it was a fair recipe, but too sweet, too much basil and not enough salt. Added some soy sauce, as well as a little thyme. Makes enough for 3 servings. Not bad at all, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
everyone loved it! excellent, and super simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States