French Onion Soup VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I have just made this, and I agree with others that it tastes restaurant quality or better. I used half white and half red wine and added a dash of Worcestershire as others suggested, and it is yummy! I'd purchased a vegan beef flavored broth base (I was feeling cheap that day and didn't feel like shelling out for veggie broth), and it really does taste like it was made with beef broth as I usually do. We are required to eat vegetarian on Fridays, and I bet my hubby won't believe it is vegetarian when he tries it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I like the simplicity! Did not have wine so added 1/4 cup brown rice vinegar, agave, garlic, WHITE PEPPER, & extra veggie broth. Tastes fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Made this for a couple friends around the holidays and they loved it. They are not vegetarian but I am so I had to find a recipe for this soup that didn't use beef broth. It was easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Delicious, quick, and easy! What more could you ask for? I toasted the bread first and also added a couple pinches of flour to the simmering soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
it's a classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
George Washington Beef Broth (is vegetarian) and has really good flavor...it comes in a box next to the soups...(also chicken)...as an alternative to the over priced canned stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I'll make this again, but it wasn't this amazing dish that sent my tastebuds into a frenzy that others raved about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Think I'd really like this soup if I didn't accidentally put a lid on my onions, very easy, great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Pretty darn good vegetarian French Onion. But the flavor obviously depends based on the wine you use. I used very watered down vegetable stock, so I added in 4 bay leaves and 3 shakes of Worcestershire sauce. And I sauted the onions for probably 30 minutes, so they browned nicely. I didn't have baguette or mozzarella, so I subbed a toasted half slice of plain bagel & a slice of provolone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Just made it. It took a while to cook all of those onions. Plus, since I'm a rookie, what kind of onions are best for this recipe? I used yellow, which I use for everything. It still tasted great, though. My wife loved it and wants to make it a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States