French Onion Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This was great-I carmelized the onions first. My husband was impressed-that says alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
When I saw this was submitted by a Canadian I had to check it out. It was the best Onion Soup recipe that I have had. I scaled it for 2 (made it as a starter for New Year's Dinner)and it turned out great! Highly recommend. I will make this more often as it was soo easy and delicious! From ONTARIO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
This is a graet recipe.. I used it for Christmas and I'm making it again because it is so easy and my friends say it's just like the kind they get when they eat out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This was the first time I've ever tried to make French Onion soup. It turned out beautifully and very tasty. My husband absolutely loved it. I'll be making this one for my next dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennyd1102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I've made this a couple of times and it's great. I love the thyme and parsley. A few changes I've made ... I use 48 oz beef broth, I don't water it down at all. I sprinkle the sugar on onion slices right away and I cook the onions for 45 until dark and caramelized. I use Port wine, not white. No restaurant version can compare to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
WOW!!! what a fantastic recipe! i'm usually a tweaker but this time i didn't change a thing! so simple and easy yet so divine! thank you!!!!!! O'Canada our home and native land....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
Fantastic soup! Very tasty! I'm not a big soup eater, but this was so good I have made it many times...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Super soup! I use Gruyère cheese instead and whole wheat bread slices instead of a baguette. Otherwise, I follow this recipe as given, and it's my new favorite onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
Wonderful! I saw the raving reviews for this recipe, and I had to try it! It was so easy, and so delicious! My husband, who doesn't like onions, even liked it! I didn't dilute the broth as much as the recipe calls for, but I don't think it would have been any less good the original way. I also sprinkled a little bit of parmesan cheese over the mozarella. YUM! I would highly recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYMSTARA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
Excellent. I have been searching for the perfect French Onion Soup recipe and have finally found it. My husband thinks it is as good as Le Papillion Restaurant's (Toronto, Ontario)French Onion Soup. A definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States