French Onion Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This is a good recipe, I used vidalia onions which made it pretty sweet--that is even after leaving out the sugar. I did CARMELIZE my onions, though, as I feel this is what a true FRENCH onion soup should be. Carmelizing actually causes a chemical change to many vegetables in that it changes a complex carbohydrate to a simple carbohydrat--therefore, sweetness! Carmelizing also makes things taste richer. Therefore I spent over 30 minutes frying my onions instead of the recipe's 10 minutes. There is no hard definite time in carmelizing as it depends on your cookware--I use a 9" cast-iron dutch oven because again the cast-iron provides depth to your food. I would also recommend using butter if you possibly can because margarine and oleo are oil whipped with water, so it will change your outcome and your amounts should probably be adjusted if using those. Butter has a personality of its own and when it is cooked and part of the carmelizing process it adds a whole different dimension of flavor and richness that provides a heady sumptuousness about it that oil just can't match. If using very sweet onions like I did, I would suggest not adding the sugar and using a wine that was dry and not sweet also a more bland or aged cheese or a cheese like swiss to counter the sweetness of the onions. Enjoy it like I did and Happy eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I've made this a couple of times and it's great. I love the thyme and parsley. A few changes I've made ... I use 48 oz beef broth, I don't water it down at all. I sprinkle the sugar on onion slices right away and I cook the onions for 45 until dark and caramelized. I use Port wine, not white. No restaurant version can compare to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
So fantastic and delicous! I slow cooked the onions for nearly an hour, it really builds the flavor. I substituted one red onion for a yellow, because reds give this soup an excellent complex flavor. Slipped a few tablespoons of sherry in when adding the beef broth and didn't dilute the broth with water. This has to be the best onion soup I have tried, and I have had many over the years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
When I saw this was submitted by a Canadian I had to check it out. It was the best Onion Soup recipe that I have had. I scaled it for 2 (made it as a starter for New Year's Dinner)and it turned out great! Highly recommend. I will make this more often as it was soo easy and delicious! From ONTARIO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Great French Onion Soup recipe. I only used 3 large onions instead of 4. Also, I didn't use any wine (didn't have any) put 2 tbsp. of Worchestire instead. Turned out wonderful. I will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Columbia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I did caramelize the onions first as I have always done (makes for a better colour and flavour) Otherwise as per recipe, very good. You must use strong flavoured onions to achieve the best taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This soup turned out so delicious, my husband made the most satisfied sounds as he ate it! I made it for 4 servings and it was enough for 2 large crocks and one leftover for another time. Used mozzarella instead and added the wine as I sauted the onions so it cooked with all the other flavors. It was better than any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This recipe was as good as any I have had in a restaurant. We love onions so I added more than called for. I also did not add any water and added additional beef stock and used red wine instead of white (thats all I had in the house). My girls asked if I would make it once a week from now on. This one is a keeper. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This was excellent! My husband buys french onion soup at every restaurant and said this was better than a lot of them, we both really enjoyed it. I omitted the wine, and scaled it for 2 people. I also put less onion than called for. Thanks for a great recipe, I will definatly be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
I thought it was very good, but it was a bit too peppery for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States