French Onion Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
When I saw this was submitted by a Canadian I had to check it out. It was the best Onion Soup recipe that I have had. I scaled it for 2 (made it as a starter for New Year's Dinner)and it turned out great! Highly recommend. I will make this more often as it was soo easy and delicious! From ONTARIO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
This is a graet recipe.. I used it for Christmas and I'm making it again because it is so easy and my friends say it's just like the kind they get when they eat out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
I thought it was very good, but it was a bit too peppery for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This was the first time I've ever tried to make French Onion soup. It turned out beautifully and very tasty. My husband absolutely loved it. I'll be making this one for my next dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennyd1102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I've made this a couple of times and it's great. I love the thyme and parsley. A few changes I've made ... I use 48 oz beef broth, I don't water it down at all. I sprinkle the sugar on onion slices right away and I cook the onions for 45 until dark and caramelized. I use Port wine, not white. No restaurant version can compare to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
WOW!!! what a fantastic recipe! i'm usually a tweaker but this time i didn't change a thing! so simple and easy yet so divine! thank you!!!!!! O'Canada our home and native land....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
I'm on a quest to find a match to my favorite French Onion soup which is served at a restaurant in my home town. This came pretty close! I think next time I may simmer it longer and not add as much thyme. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
Fantastic soup! Very tasty! I'm not a big soup eater, but this was so good I have made it many times...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
I have been looking for a good french onion recipe and I really liked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Super soup! I use Gruyère cheese instead and whole wheat bread slices instead of a baguette. Otherwise, I follow this recipe as given, and it's my new favorite onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States