French Onion Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Great recipe! Très bonne recette du Québec! I made the following modifications: - caramelized the onions for 30 min., really a must for French onion soup! - used home made beef broth - used fresh parsley instead of dried - substituted 1/2 cup of port for the white wine - toasted the bread beforehand - substituted a gruyère / emmenthal blend for the mozzarella It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
My family and I really didn't like this soup at all. We've had it from many fine dinning restraunts, and from many different people and this recipe is not very good at all to our standards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
it's crazy how good this soup is. AND...somehow it is actually better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
A very easy recipe yielding a very tasty soup. This was my first time cooking french onion soup and it was a snap. The soup came out very tasty. I substituted a 1/2 cup of red cooking wine for the recommended 1 cup of white wine and my wife and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pewter_Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This was very good. I added garlic to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
My onion-hating husband and son both enjoyed this soup. I LOVED it! Sauted onions until carmelized (sp?) and omitted wine as I did not have any on hand. Next time will use wine, but probably red-definitely needs it. Will also chill and skim fat before re-heating as I found it really thick, fatty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amjoy373

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was an easy and tasty recipe. I made it on a whim the other night and it was great. I love french onion soup and I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheldon, Iowa, USA
Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I had to knock this down a notch because almost everyone who wrote a review has changed the recipe a bit from the way it's written. I tried making it before reading the reviews and found it tasty, but lacking something Next time I'll try carmelizing the onions and do something to make the soup darker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This recipe was so yummy! I didn't add any sugar because I didn't think it was necessary, or white wine (just because I didn't have any). I also had homemade turkey stock on hand so I used that instead of canned beef broth. Also, since I don't have any individual bowls to broil the soups, I just toasted up some organic flour-free flax bread with mozza cheese in the oven and placed on top of the bowl of soup before serving. Another change was I used fresh thyme and parsley instead of dried. I also cooked the onions WAY longer than the 10 minutes, to caramelize them like so many other people have advised to. I even accidentally burnt them a bit, but I think that just made the flavour even better! I know that seems like quite a few changes but in my opinion, they are very minor. Very yummy, thanks for sharing! I didn't realize how easy french onion soup could be! :) Oh yes, and I probably let the soup simmer longer than the recipe advises which I think just develops the flavour even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States