French Onion Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I cooked the onions for about 45 minutes as others as suggested. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coconut Creek, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was really good - but I felt there were too many onions in it - maybe my onions were just really big! Next time I make it I will use much more broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This soup turned out good, but It seemed a little watered down in taste when I used beef broth from a can. I am going to richen up the beef flavor next time with bouline cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Easy and delicious-served as part of xmas dinner and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Super easy and very good soup! Might put it in a sourdough bowl next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dry Ridge, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Wonderful recipe- will definitely make again!! This is now a staple for my fall/winter diet. Made it exactly as recipe described except that I did fry my onions in the butter for longer...until good and carmelized because I absolutely gree that this is vital for a good French Onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
The flavor in this soup is phenomenal (and I didn't even have wine to add - I can't imagine how it could be better!). I didn't have parsley, but I did add a bay leaf while it was simmering on the stove. I also used vidalia onions and cooked them for a good 30-45 minutes in order to caramelize them and sweeten the deal. I'll definitely make this again - it tasted just like it was from a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Yum!!!! I have never had french onion soup before, but I wanted to try making some, and this recipe was just wonderful. Even my onion hating husband made "yummy noises" while eating it and requested I make it again. :) I used swiss cheese for the top and homemade french bread from this site, and I also added about a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce to the broth before adding to the onions. I cooked the onions longer than 10 minutes (more like 30) to give them color, and it really hit the spot on a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was a really easy recipe. I am a vegetarian, so I used vegetable broth instead of beef broth. Even the carnivores liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I love this recipe! It is a great starter for french onion soup lovers everywhere. I would say though that the secret to an amazing pot of soup everytime is always slow cooking. I cooked my onions on low for about an hour and then simmered the soup for a about two more and there is no lack of flavor there at all. It's always great to put your own spin on a simply great recipe. I also added a dash of Worcestershire sauce for flavor and I used homemade Elderberry wine in place of the white, YUM! I also subbed Tony Chacherie's White Gravy mix for the flour. You can never go wrong changing up the little bits here and there and making a recipe to own tastes, especially one with such great bones as this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenandMaggie McClain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States