French Onion Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
lovely & simple. easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
WOW! Even my two year likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aileen(La Tuti)
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This soup was delicious!!!!! A few slight variations I made were - using beef soup base instead of canned stock and omitting the water. Also, I added the sugar to the onions in the beginning because I find that the carmelization is richer. Instead of all white wine I used 1 part white wine and 1 part sherry. The finishing touch was a dash of worcestershire. My husband ate 3 bowls, 2 w/ cheese, 1 without! Really marvelous, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Won't bother trying to change all the ingredients, I'll simply try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
surprisingly healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I'm going to rate this in the middle because I'm a NEW cook... lol... I used sodium free beef broth - it was horrible, so that's on me, but the recipe called for shredded mozzeralla... not a good idea! It sunk to the bottom and didn't want to melt... probaby will make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve~n~Tiffani

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Titusville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly & found it to be on the sweet/bland side. I added a little Worcestershire sauce to my bowl of soup & it improved the flavor a little. I probably won't make it again as the consistency was kind of thick & it seems to need a darker, richer beef broth than the canned variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manzanita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This is fit for a king. I love french onion soup and this is the best, most flavorful example I have had to date. Even in the finest restaurants I've never had better. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracee Workman
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Good, wine was a bit overpowering for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Very good for the amount of effort. I used seasoned croutons and mozza cheese to top it before broiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States