French Onion Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Pretty good tasting before putting the white wine in. Next time I will try it without it, but still was very peppery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I let the onions carmalize for about a half hour, that was the only change I made. Next time I would cut down on the pepper a little, but other than that it is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was Delicious! my husband and I Love french onion soup we get from a few of our fav. restraunts and this came close! not right on the dot but just about. I added a few things...I let the onions caramelize for about 45 min and as the onions were in the pot i added about 4 drops of worchistire and a pinch of garlic salt. it was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was a good, fast onion soup. However, to make really delicious french onion soup, the onions need to be caramelized to provide a complex, deep flavor & color. The bread should be lightly toasted in the oven -- 350 degrees for 5-7 minutes per side. Also, for a special treat, use Gruyere cheese. Grate some -- 2T or so -- into the broth. Slice the rest & top the toasted bread with it. Grated Parmesan can also be added before broiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This was delicious. No modifications needed. Even my 7 year old ate this and he doesn't eat anything besides the normal child fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
So good! My husband and I love this recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paracana

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I have been making this soup for years and it is awesome! I use 3 onions, 3 beef bouillon and 4 cups of water instead of the beef broth, and only 1/2 t. of pepper. The longer you cook the onions, the better the soup tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Very flavorful with a sweet peppery kick. I'll make it again. Easy prep
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bespos
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Very tasty and easy to follow. This is the first time I made French onion soup and it turned out as tasy as restaurant versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Excellent way to use up onions! i do however recomend cutting back on the wine a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States