French Onion Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was Delicious! my husband and I Love french onion soup we get from a few of our fav. restraunts and this came close! not right on the dot but just about. I added a few things...I let the onions caramelize for about 45 min and as the onions were in the pot i added about 4 drops of worchistire and a pinch of garlic salt. it was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was a good, fast onion soup. However, to make really delicious french onion soup, the onions need to be caramelized to provide a complex, deep flavor & color. The bread should be lightly toasted in the oven -- 350 degrees for 5-7 minutes per side. Also, for a special treat, use Gruyere cheese. Grate some -- 2T or so -- into the broth. Slice the rest & top the toasted bread with it. Grated Parmesan can also be added before broiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This was delicious. No modifications needed. Even my 7 year old ate this and he doesn't eat anything besides the normal child fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
So good! My husband and I love this recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paracana

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I have been making this soup for years and it is awesome! I use 3 onions, 3 beef bouillon and 4 cups of water instead of the beef broth, and only 1/2 t. of pepper. The longer you cook the onions, the better the soup tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Very flavorful with a sweet peppery kick. I'll make it again. Easy prep
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bespos
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Very tasty and easy to follow. This is the first time I made French onion soup and it turned out as tasy as restaurant versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Excellent way to use up onions! i do however recomend cutting back on the wine a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
lovely & simple. easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
WOW! Even my two year likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aileen(La Tuti)

Displaying results 51-60 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States