French Onion Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Made this for my boyfriend and he LOVED it. It was more flavorful and complex than anything we've had in a restaurant. I doubled the recipe and used 4 large white onions and 2 med sweet onions, which I cooked til they just started to caramelize. I left out the sugar, added a few dashes of Worcestershire, used Marsala wine, and topped it with cheese and garlic croutons and mozzarella cheese. We skipped the broiling and just poured the soup over shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Titusville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Easy and delicious. My son and I finished all in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This soup was pretty good and pretty easy to make. It wasn't wow! I guess it was pretty classic but wasn't bursting with flavor. I added quite a bit of salt as well to make it a little more flavorful. Looking at other recipes, I added Worchestershire sauce to the leftovers and it did give it a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny B

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by arp22tx
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I loved this recipe...I got two red onions & two yellow onions and I didn't chop them...I sliced them then i halfed the slices, liked it better that way! I also put the sugar in with the butter to cook the onions first! I added 48oz. beef broth and cut out the water, I also added more wine too, prolly about two cups :) Very YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arp22tx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I made this soup tonight for dinner. Everybody LOVED it! I just found the pepper flavor to bit a be overpowering so if you don't enjoy things with a strong peppery flavor, you may want to adjust the pepper amount to half of what it says here. Other than that this recipe definitely desevres five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This soup was AMAZING! I added a few drops of worcestershire sauce and it tasted so great. I was definitely impressed. Left out the wine, and I'll make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENPEN006

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Brandy
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I used fresh parsley (because I had it) and I took the time to caramelize the onions. I used Provolone to melt on top. I have never had french onion soup before so I guess I really do not like it. My husband said it was good and it tasted like normal french onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Argyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Excellent base recipe. A good quality white wine or vermouth is essential. The onions take a bit longer to saute than suggested so just feel that out. I added a splash of worcestershire and swiss cheese instead of cheddar. I do like to toast the french bread prior to adding it to the soup, it seems to hold a nice consistency. This is YUMMY! And soooo simple to pull together! Hubby loved it and so didn't I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I skipped the thyme and added bay leaf instead. Also added a little more stock and wine and a little less H2O. Made for a richer soup. Also, if you toast the bread before putting it on the soup it tend to retain a firmer texture and not become so mushy so quickly. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKDale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
this was very good. the thyme and white wine really give it a nice flavor. i had leftover beef au jus so i used that. i also made croutons out of some leftover homemade bread. i dont have individual soup crocks so i used a soup terrine and served it family style. i added a salad w/ the creamy french dressing recipe from this site to make it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States