French Onion Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Delicious!! Best I have tasted so far. I made this soup with modifications - some from the reviews I read and one of my own. I did not use any water and doubled the broth. I also used Cab Sav instead of white wine (didn't have any) which gave the broth a nice flavor. I opted for aged provolone and alpine swiss for the cheeses. The provolone was great, but the alpine swiss was not such a good choice as it does not have the greatest scent when browned in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Really good, especially with a couple of minor changes: I used about a teaspoon of fresh minced thyme instead of dried, and sauteed it along with the onions so that the essential oils and flavor would be brought out. I omitted the sugar because the onions were already plenty sweet for me. I omitted the parsley because I find that dried parsley just doesn't impart that much flavor to anything; and I didn't like the look of all those specks floating around in the soup. I reduced the white wine slightly and added 2 Tbsp of sherry. The sherry took this soup from really good to RESTAURANT quality. Definitely try it with a splash of sherry! I also used Provolone cheese instead of mozzarella. Thanks for the recipe! With these changes, it will be a regular in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Sorry, I really was looking forward to this because of the good reviews and the ease of preparation. However, there was very little depth to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLYJO definitely not a pro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Only gave 4 stars because I thought the recipe was missing a few things. I made the recipe exact, but found I had to add some ingredients to make it pop. Worcestershire was a must! It was missing a bit of something else, just haven't figured it out yet. However, the recipe itself is agreat starting point! I used Gruyere cheese and french baguette to top it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This was good the first time around, but not so great reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bandizzle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This was the best french onion soup that I've ever had - granted, this was only the fourth time that I've had French Onion soup. I sauteed the onions for about 30 mins until they were fairly carmelized. I deglazed the pan with the beef broth. Then I used Pinot Grigio as the wine. At the end, I used gruyere and mozzarella cheese on top. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was a great recipe. Changes I made: 1. Instead of water I used chicken stock (I read in a gormet cookbook that using both chicken stock and beef stock was the best. 2. I used cooking sherry instead of traditional white wine. 3. I carmelized the onions. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
You really should use Swiss Ementhaler or a Gruyere for the cheese and FRESH Thyme and Parsley. I also used the more traditional Red Wine and I used one and a half cups of just a middle of the road red, you could also use Marsala. This version should be called the Canadian onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Made this for my boyfriend and he LOVED it. It was more flavorful and complex than anything we've had in a restaurant. I doubled the recipe and used 4 large white onions and 2 med sweet onions, which I cooked til they just started to caramelize. I left out the sugar, added a few dashes of Worcestershire, used Marsala wine, and topped it with cheese and garlic croutons and mozzarella cheese. We skipped the broiling and just poured the soup over shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Titusville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Easy and delicious. My son and I finished all in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States