French Onion Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Delicious! And pretty easy. I ended up using red wine instead of white, but turned out good anyway. Might use a little less sugar, at least with yellow onions. Other than that, should totally try it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I love this recipe. I made one change but only because I used what I had at home. I had no French bread so I used some green chile cheese bread (toasted) and it was awesome! Hmmm...the only thing French, besides the name) was the wine. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
this was a good base. i did add 2 beef bouillion cubes, cuz i like it a little more salty. and a couple dashes of worchester. oh yeah, i used 2 vidalia's and 1 red onion. oh, and 1 more thing. i didnt have mozzarella, so i used Gruyere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa margitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tarainga
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
this is a good base--but I found it to be bland, as is. Maybe I didn't use the right onion--but I had to add some sugar, some kosher salt and also some worchesire sauce (several dashes) to give this dish some added depth and richness. I served in a bread bowl with melted mozz cheese. It was delicious after I tinkered with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tarainga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This recipe can be a good starter recipe if you've never made FO soup before, but it doesn't come close to the depth and flavor of proper FO soup. The recipe doesn't even call for salt, so adjust as needed. It comes out sort of bland otherwise. It tastes pretty good, but I would personally like to see more depth to this soup. Also the fact that it uses white wine instead of read gives it a pale color compared to some other soups. In my opinion the bread should either be day old, kind of stale or toasted to stand up to the liquid while covered with cheese. Otherwise it can get a bit soft and mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
soooo good. my nephew in WA made this soup when I was visiting. I just got back home to NC and am cooking a pot today. I'll be having it often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Well I kinda changed a lot...but this was a great base. I only used 3 big onions instead of four (one red, one white, one yellow as that's what I had on hand). I let them caramelize in the butter for a good 45 mins before adding the flour and sugar, and I only used 1/2 the pepper. I used two big 32 beef broth cartons, and then tossed in about 6-7 beef bouillon cubes and about a cup and 1/2 of water and the parsley and thyme. I let that simmer for about 30-45 mins before adding the white wine, a few splashes of Worcester sauce and about 4 tablespoons of a Shiraz. I let all of that simmer together for about an hour and then topped with toasted baguette pieces, provolone and swiss and broiled. DELICIOUS! I would give it 4.5 stars if I could - only thing holding me back from 5 stars is if I would have had some Gruyere cheese instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Yum! nice flavor! will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This soup was so yummy!! My husband loved it and said that this recipe was definitely a keeper!! I did make just a few minor changes. I took the advice of others, and did not add the extra water, but did add a little bit extra beef broth. I also only used 3 onions instead of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States