French Onion Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I had to knock this down a notch because almost everyone who wrote a review has changed the recipe a bit from the way it's written. I tried making it before reading the reviews and found it tasty, but lacking something Next time I'll try carmelizing the onions and do something to make the soup darker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This recipe was so yummy! I didn't add any sugar because I didn't think it was necessary, or white wine (just because I didn't have any). I also had homemade turkey stock on hand so I used that instead of canned beef broth. Also, since I don't have any individual bowls to broil the soups, I just toasted up some organic flour-free flax bread with mozza cheese in the oven and placed on top of the bowl of soup before serving. Another change was I used fresh thyme and parsley instead of dried. I also cooked the onions WAY longer than the 10 minutes, to caramelize them like so many other people have advised to. I even accidentally burnt them a bit, but I think that just made the flavour even better! I know that seems like quite a few changes but in my opinion, they are very minor. Very yummy, thanks for sharing! I didn't realize how easy french onion soup could be! :) Oh yes, and I probably let the soup simmer longer than the recipe advises which I think just develops the flavour even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This recipe was as good as any I have had in a restaurant. We love onions so I added more than called for. I also did not add any water and added additional beef stock and used red wine instead of white (thats all I had in the house). My girls asked if I would make it once a week from now on. This one is a keeper. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Great soup. Added worchestershire for taste and coloring. wasn't cloudy at all. did do the wine although I normally wouldn't def. adds demension to the flavor. this is supposed to be a sweet and lightly flavored soup because it is soaked up in the bread and is usually with a salty cheese like swiss. I made my beef stock homeade and my french baguettes homeade off of this sight...yummy! I cooked my onions on low for an hour and used red onions because they are universally known to have a deeper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaMack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I have used this recipe as a base for a few years now. To me, this is a good introduction to the French Onion Soup. It's not daunting at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjam1303

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I made this a couple of days ago. Used one spanish onion and one sweet onion. Also added the sugar right away as per another reviewers suggestion. My son-in-law loved it. I made it for him as he broke his jaw a couple of weeks ago and went through surgery. He's on a liquid diet for 6 weeks. Used half cheddar and half mozzarella cheese but did not put under broiler only melted it. He said he had been craving bread and this he could eat without chewing. Thanks, from Ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
great recipe. i used ciabatta bread instead of a french baguette, and monterrey jack instead of swiss... but i'm definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SofiaSasparilla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
We loved this recipe, It was simple and ummy!!!!I did add a little more white wine and pepper to taste. I will definately make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Port Credit, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This was an ok recipe, The broth didnt have much flavor, i had to doctor it up a bit with worshtishire and garlic and tons of salt. It wasnt the best FOS but it satisfied my craving. tasted much better with the cheese and bread added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was really tasty after a few tweaks. I caramelized the onions with butter and sugar( I was using yellow onions) over low heat. I added 2 small bay leaves, a teaspoon of garlic powder,eliminated the water and went with all beef broth(low sodium),added a teaspoon of worstershire sauce and a teaspoon of balsamic vinegar(to cut the flour butter mixture). During the cook I was tasting, and I felt the thyme was a little overpowering but a nice change for this soup. After adding the wine and tasting, the thyme fit right in, I added 1 teaspoon of beef bouillon(so much for the low sodium), but the soup as I prepared it absolutely needed it). Good recipe, will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States