French Onion Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This recipe was as good as any I have had in a restaurant. We love onions so I added more than called for. I also did not add any water and added additional beef stock and used red wine instead of white (thats all I had in the house). My girls asked if I would make it once a week from now on. This one is a keeper. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Great soup. Added worchestershire for taste and coloring. wasn't cloudy at all. did do the wine although I normally wouldn't def. adds demension to the flavor. this is supposed to be a sweet and lightly flavored soup because it is soaked up in the bread and is usually with a salty cheese like swiss. I made my beef stock homeade and my french baguettes homeade off of this sight...yummy! I cooked my onions on low for an hour and used red onions because they are universally known to have a deeper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaMack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I have used this recipe as a base for a few years now. To me, this is a good introduction to the French Onion Soup. It's not daunting at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjam1303

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I made this a couple of days ago. Used one spanish onion and one sweet onion. Also added the sugar right away as per another reviewers suggestion. My son-in-law loved it. I made it for him as he broke his jaw a couple of weeks ago and went through surgery. He's on a liquid diet for 6 weeks. Used half cheddar and half mozzarella cheese but did not put under broiler only melted it. He said he had been craving bread and this he could eat without chewing. Thanks, from Ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
great recipe. i used ciabatta bread instead of a french baguette, and monterrey jack instead of swiss... but i'm definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SofiaSasparilla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
We loved this recipe, It was simple and ummy!!!!I did add a little more white wine and pepper to taste. I will definately make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Port Credit, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This was an ok recipe, The broth didnt have much flavor, i had to doctor it up a bit with worshtishire and garlic and tons of salt. It wasnt the best FOS but it satisfied my craving. tasted much better with the cheese and bread added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was really tasty after a few tweaks. I caramelized the onions with butter and sugar( I was using yellow onions) over low heat. I added 2 small bay leaves, a teaspoon of garlic powder,eliminated the water and went with all beef broth(low sodium),added a teaspoon of worstershire sauce and a teaspoon of balsamic vinegar(to cut the flour butter mixture). During the cook I was tasting, and I felt the thyme was a little overpowering but a nice change for this soup. After adding the wine and tasting, the thyme fit right in, I added 1 teaspoon of beef bouillon(so much for the low sodium), but the soup as I prepared it absolutely needed it). Good recipe, will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Amazing dish! Even my picky boyfriend, who is an Onion Soup connoisseur said this dish was the best homemade French Onion Soup he'd ever had. I did spend a bit longer on caramelizing the onions and changed the herbs a bit to ones I had more readily available, but I will be making this again in the very near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
My family really enjoyed this. I had to get used to the thyme in it...I don't think the onion soups I've had before had any thyme in it, so I just wasn't accustomed to the flavor...but it turned out excellent. My husband loved it and even my two young girls - who don't eat ANYTHING - kept coming back to me to try more. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seymour, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States