French Onion Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
this makes the easiest french onion soup and it is great.My daughter absolutly loves it and it doesn't take long to prepere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
Not only did this soup taste great, it was really easy! If you're pretending to be a gourmet, go elsewhere, but if you want a good, easy onion soup this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This is the recipe I lost a while back - glad to have it again. Very, very, easy and delicious. I only added about 1 Tablespoon of flour after the onions were soft to thicken the soup a bit, and about 1 Cup of water before simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Excellent, easy recipe for delicious French onion soup. I was worried that I had too many onions, so I added a can of French onion soup to the mix. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2000
Fabulous!! I loved it and it only took about 30 minutes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
My family absolutely loves this recipe. We made it for Christmas 07 for my husband's family and they could not stop raving about it.. It is a new Christmas staple in our home as well as just an easy delicious soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I thought this recipe was very quick and easy. I modified it a little bit with another recipe. I sauteed my onions for like 45 minutes on low iin 3 tbsp butter. After that, I added 1 tbsp unbleached flour and 1/4 tsp brown sugar and simmered for about 3 minutes. Then I added the broth and simmered for 30 minutes, then added my worceshire. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
We have a traditional Polish American dinner on Christmas eve and the start to the meal is French Onion Soup. I've tried different recipes through the years, but they haven't been well recieved especially by my daughter who is now 10. This year we had my sister and BIL and their 3 kids for dinner and this soup was a BIG hit. The kids loved it which was good because the rest of the meal was fish and that wasn't the kids favorite. I was glad I made a big huge pot of this soup! These are the changes that I made: I sauted the onions in butter and I used an equal amount of beef broth to beef bullion, only because my hubby did the shopping and didn't get enough cans of beef broth. Because I made a large pot of this we didn't use bread but we used seasoned croutons, with shredded swiss cheese top, for the ease of serving. I made the soup early and put it in the crockpot on low, because my husband is always busy cooking the fish and the last thing we need to to be making soup while he is trying to cook the numberous fish dishes and the peirogies! I will make this again and again, my daughter LOVES it so it will be a staple in our house throughout the winter months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN3404

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I have to give this recipe 5 stars, esp. cuz I wowed my BF who said to me "I didn't think you'd be able to make French Onion Soup this good" blah blah ;-) But anyway, all I changed was adding alot more Worcestershire sauce (no oil, only a little cooking spray), and some white wine & minced garlic while sauteing the onions. And I used Provolone cheese cuz thats what I had. I impressed myself, and my BF, for my first French Onion Soup!! :-D I highly recommend this recipe, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *m*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States