French Onion Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I thought this recipe was very quick and easy. I modified it a little bit with another recipe. I sauteed my onions for like 45 minutes on low iin 3 tbsp butter. After that, I added 1 tbsp unbleached flour and 1/4 tsp brown sugar and simmered for about 3 minutes. Then I added the broth and simmered for 30 minutes, then added my worceshire. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I loved this recipe! It was so quick and easy and so delicious. The only thing I did differently was to add more Worcestershire sauce and next time I won't use quite so much oil as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrine

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
Not only did this soup taste great, it was really easy! If you're pretending to be a gourmet, go elsewhere, but if you want a good, easy onion soup this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Use a pinch of flour to thicken...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This is the recipe I lost a while back - glad to have it again. Very, very, easy and delicious. I only added about 1 Tablespoon of flour after the onions were soft to thicken the soup a bit, and about 1 Cup of water before simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Very quick and easy to make. I made a single serving by quartering the recipe. Very easy for someone with literally NO cooking experience to make. I didn't make the french bread croûtons though and replaced them with store bought as that was a little quicker, I then put the soup and croûtons in a bowl and laid the cheese over top of it all and put that in the oven for 5 minutes. Next time I make this I'll add extra onions as there was a bit too little onion for my taste (although I love onions)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
this makes the easiest french onion soup and it is great.My daughter absolutly loves it and it doesn't take long to prepere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Excellent, easy recipe for delicious French onion soup. I was worried that I had too many onions, so I added a can of French onion soup to the mix. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
Absolutely fabulous-cured my craving for onion soup. Great for lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2000
Fabulous!! I loved it and it only took about 30 minutes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States