French Onion Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
a good soup my entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
So Easy We used Veggie broth instead of beef *not a meat eater* and We had a nice loaf of garlic bread laying around so we used that. we did this the second time the first we followed as directed and it was wonderful aswell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Delicious! Made it just as it said and it was great! Super easy, which I loved. Next time I'd cut the onions into shorter pieces, they got a bit long. Mmmm... Thanks Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I love french onion soup from restaurants. I wanted to try to make it myself because I never can get enough of it when I am out. It tasted kind of strange while it was cooking, but after I added the bread and cheese at the end it tasted good. Would have liked for it to taste a little stronger. But overall pretty good. I did have to add a little extra worchestershire as others have said and you will definately want to double it if you want big servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Easy fast meal. Make sure to toast french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Pretty yummy! I also thickened with a little flour and I added some white wine. I think next time I'll cook the onions longer and the soup will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I have to give this recipe 5 stars, esp. cuz I wowed my BF who said to me "I didn't think you'd be able to make French Onion Soup this good" blah blah ;-) But anyway, all I changed was adding alot more Worcestershire sauce (no oil, only a little cooking spray), and some white wine & minced garlic while sauteing the onions. And I used Provolone cheese cuz thats what I had. I impressed myself, and my BF, for my first French Onion Soup!! :-D I highly recommend this recipe, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *m*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I needed a recipe to use LOTS of onions so I could salvage what what left from my dad's garden...3 lbs plus some after being cut. This certainly did the trick and my dad really enjoyed it...although one should know my dad likes bland food. I've never had french onion soup before so I don't know how it should taste but I think it could use some spices, though I don't know what? I did add some honey in the second and third batch which seemed to balance out the saltiness. Overall a simple and a successful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
We have a traditional Polish American dinner on Christmas eve and the start to the meal is French Onion Soup. I've tried different recipes through the years, but they haven't been well recieved especially by my daughter who is now 10. This year we had my sister and BIL and their 3 kids for dinner and this soup was a BIG hit. The kids loved it which was good because the rest of the meal was fish and that wasn't the kids favorite. I was glad I made a big huge pot of this soup! These are the changes that I made: I sauted the onions in butter and I used an equal amount of beef broth to beef bullion, only because my hubby did the shopping and didn't get enough cans of beef broth. Because I made a large pot of this we didn't use bread but we used seasoned croutons, with shredded swiss cheese top, for the ease of serving. I made the soup early and put it in the crockpot on low, because my husband is always busy cooking the fish and the last thing we need to to be making soup while he is trying to cook the numberous fish dishes and the peirogies! I will make this again and again, my daughter LOVES it so it will be a staple in our house throughout the winter months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN3404

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I used Thyme in this and greatly increased the worshershire sauce. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States