French Onion Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This was the first time I had tried french onion soup and it was great, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This was soooo good! Just like the kind I used to get at the Hyatt. I changed it up a bit. I added fresh garlic to soup, used a blend of shredded swiss and mozzerella and made garlic croutons out of french bread. I put the croutons on top of soup, then cheese on top of that and broiled the bowls of soup. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly but was not happy at all with the flavor. It was watery and bland. Maybe I didn't caramelize the onions long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Added some spices to the onions before adding the broth. I also let the onions cook for about 35 minutes, instead of the 20 the recipie called for. It came out pretty good for a begginer onion soup. My boyfriend said it was yummylicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oxamanda89xo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Doesn't have very much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xaveria81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is a great tasty soup! It's super easy to make. Like other users I modified the recipe just a tad, I sauteed the onions (and a garlic clove) in 3tbsp. butter until soft, I then added a little flour to thicken, added boulllion, water, and worcestershire. A wholesome and hearty soup that stands on its own and makes wonderful leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1JenBug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salida, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This was easy and was a big hit at dinner. I did take one of the other reviewers suggestions and slowly sauteed the onions for half an hour to forty minutes then continued with the recipe. I made this the night before I served it and the next day found that it looked like it had boiled down too much, so I added more beef broth and found that it did not negatively effect the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I used chicken stock instead of beef stock. It worked really well and was not as salty. I also added some balsamic vinegar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was so easy to make and very tasty! The only way I altered it was to add 2/3 cup sliced baby bella mushrooms during the last few minutes of cooking. My boyfriend has already requested I serve again SOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Peculiar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Fabulous soup! I made French Onion Soup for the first time using this recipe and my family loved it. They are already asking me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcsavage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States