French Onion Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Quick, easy and delicious....especially when you slice the onions the night before. Recipe did not make 6 servings though. Next time I will double the broth but leave the onions at 1 lb as there were more than enough. This soup will be on my family's monthly menu plan from now on. Glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
So sorry, but this was so bland!! Followed recipe exact, and used yellow onions. After it was completed, I added a bit more worchershire, then soy sauce, then Lawrys, then a packet of au jus. I won't be making this again, I will bite the bullet and use wine next time as most recipes for French onion soup call for it, and other specialty spices. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Good and quick if you have some onions to use up, but it doesn't have that French onion soup taste that I was looking for. Next time I want some French onion, I'll stick with my tried and true "fancy" recipe with the wine and all. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Soooo easy and so yummy! I used croutons instead of a crust of bread, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SillyMonkey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Delicious and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I substituted double the amount of Worcestershire sauce. It still needed more black pepper. It also needed a bit of flour to thicken. It was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemarie Petit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Very good recipe and it's very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
so simple and yet delish. i used 2 cans chicken broth - all i had - and it was ok - definitely missing the depth of taste beef would have given it. i will be trying this one again soon as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftytammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Excellent! I would have never thought that making French Onion soup could be this easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Very easy recipe and delicious!! This was the first time I ever tasted French Onion Soup. My dad who's had it at numerous restaurants said it wasn't quite French Onion, more like just onion soup...either way he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States