French Onion Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
someone needs to make this recipe and make it not taste like water and wine. I took some of the advise and added other ingredients but am very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I tried this tonight mostly because my husband loves french onion soup. I tried some modifications suggested by another review and it still needs some adjustment. 1/2 stick butter is enough, 2 large yellow onions isn't enough. I used 4 cans (2 cartons) of broth. I would rather have mozzarella on top as opposed to swiss. Also, it definitely needs some salt. I put in two teaspoons (guesstimate) and that still wasn't enough for my husband. The bay leaf was a good touch. I will definitely try the recipe again. Just with some more modifications to make it more how my husband likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
i really thought this one was 6+ stars. I loved it!! And pretty simple to make after you get over the tears from all the onion slicing. Be sure you notice that the recipe calls for condensed beef broth. I just tried it with a bay leaf and some thyme and it was good, but not completely necessary. I like this is mozarella cheese too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Sooooo good. Just plain without the cheese and bread even - but made it using 3 cups of onions, 6 cups of water and enough Better Than Bouillon to make that 6 cups of broth - that stuff is amazingly good. :) I'm planning on eating the whole pot of soup by myself I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I love French Onion Soup. It's my favorite by far. This recipe is great but I had to tweak it to be excellent. First, I used all beef broth instead of water. Water will just dilute the favor. Second, when you're stirring in the sugar, add a clove or 2 of minced garlic and about 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme. I use dry white wine instead of red wine. I've tried both and white wine gives the soup a much better flavor. Last, after toasting the baguette and while it's still hot, rub both sides with a peeled garlic clove. Believe me, it makes a huge difference. Sometimes I use Gruyere Cheese instead of Swiss but either are great on this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This was my 1st time making french onion soup and it was pretty good. Next time I will definitely only put in 1/2 the wine and probably only 2 medium sized onions. I used 3 and it was too oniony for me. I also added 2 t. of the better than bouillon for added flavor. I used all vidalia onions and I thought it was a little too sweet. The french onion soup at Max & Erma's is my favorite and that's what I'm using as a comparision. Not bad for my first try though! Oh, took an hour to cook the onions just right! Very time consuming but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clawson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This is my favorite French Onion soup receipt and everyone i make it for just loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Excellent recipe!! Delicious :-) Just as good (or even better than) as any french onion soup I have had in a good restaurant. I followed it exactly as written and it came out just great. Just remember to use the double strength beef broth. (I almost bought the "regular" strength in the store). Will definitely add this to my recipe collection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I used to cook with the canned condensed soup from the store, but changed to making a big pot of this in the summer when sweet onions are the best, then freezing it in 2 cup portions -- so much better and healthier! I do use all beef broth ILO broth & water for a richer soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I found this recipe to be bland. It would be best to skip the water just to give it more zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States