French Onion Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
No Flavor. Too much water I think. It definitely was no Jason's Deli French Onion soup. I tried to add some salt. It was a shame too because my onions were fantastic. I may have done something wrong in the recipe. I hate to say this about it because I do appreciate the submissions from all of users. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Outstanding! Even the kids liked it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was yummy! I used a little less water just because I prefer more "meaty" soup. I also only used 3 TBSP of butter. I also happened to have some sweet italian turkey sausage that I needed to use up. I cooked the links while the onions were cooking, crumbled them up and added them to the soup at the end. I let the sausage flavor soak into the soup on the stove for a few minutes. It was really good and made a more hearty meal. Also instead of putting the bowls in the oven at the end, I just put the bread with swiss cheese in the oven alone for a few minutes and then placed the bread slices on top of the soup before eating. But that was just because I wasn't positive if my bowls were oven proof or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This onion soup was really delicious! I made it for my parents on Valentine's day and they both said it was better than any french onion soup they ever tasted. I had never eaten french onion soup before and I loved it. It was a bit heavy though and I got full really quickly. I followed the directions that was given and it came out perfect. You really have to reduce the soup for a long time to get the flavor stronger. I'm definitely going to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I'm sure this recipe is great when you realize that your beef broth isn't condensed before you add all the water and sit down to eat it...I was really looking forward to it, but, I think the recipe should be altered, as the majority of pantries don't have condensed broth in them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I'm not really a fan of French onion soup but I saw a program on the Food Network where they served it and was then totally craving it! This recipe is so simple yet it has a ton of flavor! Because of the reviews, I made a few minor changes... I used a tablespoon of sugar to make it a little more sweet, and used more beef broth to substitute the water. Great recipe, and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarthaV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Maybe the broth I used was not strong enough, but I found this soup to be bland, and the red wine made it a rather unappealing color. I have made French Onion soup before, and it always came out tastier than this particular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My picky teenage son actually said "If I thought we were having pizza and I found out we were having this instead, I wouldn't mind at all." I didn't change a single thing on this recipe. As is, it is better than anything I've had in a French restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States