French Onion Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Good. I added salt and used a 32 oz carton of beef stock instead of doing the concentrate plus water. Not the same without salt. Let me also say, I tried a recipe from the food network first, and that turned out tasting like burnt turds. This was simple enough not to mess up. Ha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
It's OK but the onions need to caramelize for at least 45 minutes to bring out the flavour and sugars. Don't worry if they burn some. As a matter of fact - let them. Much Much better this way. And never Red wine! The tannins kill all the sweetness we worked so hard to bring out. White wine, a bit of congnac but not red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage La Prairie, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
the recipe was very easy, but the end result was lacking in rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This recipe is absolutely amazing. I used 3 bullion cubes - along with 3 cups of water - to make by beef broth instead of buying the canned beef broth (it end up being the same thing, really). I used a nice cab sauv as my red wine. OMGoodness!! It was restaurant quality; even my guests said so!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
absolutely fantastic - may be be the best onion soup we've ever had! Gets extra points for how easy it is to make - we will make this over and over again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
First thing is just ten minutes of cooking the onions is not near long enough, you need to cook the onions over a medium heat until the are golden brown (caramelized), this can take awhile, but it is what gives flavor to the onions. I added some minced garlic right before adding the flour. I also cooked my onions in a mixture of bacon grease and butter. I bought a generic beef broth since I had no fresh left in my freezer...what a mistake to buy a big store's generic broth, I actually tasted it before using it and it pretty much tasted like water. So i added a cube of beef bouillon and a good dash of Worcestershire sauce. I used only the broth, if I added water it would really be lacking flavor. Also the bread at the end needs to be quickly broiled until golden brown on low under the broiler and not baked for another ten minutes, or it gets mushy. If I make again I'll only use some fresh beef broth or beef consume. My onions were great all by themselves, I used fresh thyme from the garden to spice them. I had some yellow, some red and some sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is actually the 1 out of 2 things my husband will cook. And it is delicious. So much flavor, the onions are so tender and easy to eat. The cheese he puts on it can be a little much, it can somtimes get hard to swallow a big wad of melted cheese but that doesn't deter me from enjoying this! Absolutely delicious and one of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
No Flavor. Too much water I think. It definitely was no Jason's Deli French Onion soup. I tried to add some salt. It was a shame too because my onions were fantastic. I may have done something wrong in the recipe. I hate to say this about it because I do appreciate the submissions from all of users. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States