French Onion Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Yummm! I just made this for the first time and it is delicious! I made a few changes: 1/2 butter, 2 yellow onions which made about 4 cups when sliced, I browned them slowly as other reviews said (well worth the time!). Since I don't eat beef I used 4 tsp Better than Bouillon Vegetable paste dissolved in 4 cups of boiling water. Added some minced garlic before the flour and used 2 tbsp whole wheat flour. Didnt have red wine so I used white with a tbsp Worcestershire sc. Added croutons and baked...sooo good! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
added garlic and more sugar, salt and pepper and some cayenne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I have made this over two dozen times and it is great, but I have a few tweaks. First, use 5 tbsp of butter rather than 4. Next, use 3 full cups of water. Next, use a full cup of red wine. Finally, use French bread rather than a baguette and cut your slices thick so that the cheese does not dip into the soup. I also find that 10 minutes for the cheese to melt is way too long. By that time the cheese has been bubbling for a few minutes already. 5-8 minutes is a better amount of time, depending on how bubbly you want your cheese. As a side note, French bread is much better than Italian bread because French bread is drier, which is good for this. I also slice a few thinner pieces of bread for dipping. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vishal Iyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Very happy with recipe. As there are 6 different types of red wine; I used a Shiraz (or Shirah). It has the deepest flavor of the reds; not sweet at all. I used 4 vidalia onions and no flour. I pressure canned the soup after I tried it. It took over an hour for the onions to turn brown, so be warned. I didn't make the crouton or cheese, I'm allergic to milk. Followed the recipe to a T; except for the flour. Very impressed, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Good. I added salt and used a 32 oz carton of beef stock instead of doing the concentrate plus water. Not the same without salt. Let me also say, I tried a recipe from the food network first, and that turned out tasting like burnt turds. This was simple enough not to mess up. Ha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
It's OK but the onions need to caramelize for at least 45 minutes to bring out the flavour and sugars. Don't worry if they burn some. As a matter of fact - let them. Much Much better this way. And never Red wine! The tannins kill all the sweetness we worked so hard to bring out. White wine, a bit of congnac but not red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage La Prairie, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
the recipe was very easy, but the end result was lacking in rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This recipe is absolutely amazing. I used 3 bullion cubes - along with 3 cups of water - to make by beef broth instead of buying the canned beef broth (it end up being the same thing, really). I used a nice cab sauv as my red wine. OMGoodness!! It was restaurant quality; even my guests said so!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
absolutely fantastic - may be be the best onion soup we've ever had! Gets extra points for how easy it is to make - we will make this over and over again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States