French Onion Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This was awesome! One of the best french onion soups I've had in a long time. I used chicken broth instead of beef and pinot grigio instead of redwine. My husband licked his plate clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Delicious! Used brown sugar instead of white, croutons instead of bread, and added a few dashes of Worcestershire, salt, pepper, and thyme as recommended by some other reviewers. Also threw in some thinly-sliced mushrooms. Husband said it was the best soup he'd ever tasted, and has even requested that I make it for our Christmas dinner at HIS family's house! Success! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
the best french onion soup ever!!!! Easy to make and sooooo good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
First attempt at it.....and I loved it! I'm going to keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This was the best french onion soup I have made! tried many, I did add extra onions, just cause we like some in every bite, It was fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Loved it! Changes: 3 cups of yellow onions, carmelize and you don't need any sugar, used vegetable broth, toasted baguette slices in toaster, topped floating toast with grated swiss - melted well without the oven. Only used 1 cup of water and it was perfect for 2 large servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I found that using a packet of brown beef gravy mix works well instead of beef bullion. Use one or two packages and then water to get the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Great café quality and taste! However, I do have a few tweaks... 1. Use two 10.5 ounce cans of beef consommé instead of condensed broth. It's easier to find in the stores and will get rid of that water and wine taste others have complained about. Do be sure to add the water and wine as directed though, as with consommé, it is really needed. 2. Cook the onions on medium heat for a good 40 minutes. 3. Simmer the soup for at least 20 minutes, if not more. 4. Toast eight slices of bread (so as to put two in each bowl) for 5 minutes, flip them, and toast the other side for another 5 minutes. 5. Mozarella works better than Swiss, and only use half of what the recipe calls for. 6. On an upper rack, broil the bowls for three minutes (or until it is browned) on a low temperature instead of baking. All in all, this is a great recipe that was well worth the tears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This recipe is fabulous!  The only problem I had was that it's very hard to find condensed broth, so I added 3-5 organic beef bullion cubes ( it depends on who I cook for) to the broth. I have read other reviews, and they say to skip adding the water. That's another option as well, but I prefer adding the bullion cubes instead. I also added one whole stick of butter (salted or unsalted ...that's up to you) and I sauteed the onions longer as in 30 minutes or so.  Also, if you don't have french breach, any kind of bread will do depending on what you or your audience will like.  All in all, this is a great recipe and very easy to make!   PS... I soak my onions in cold water so that they don't make me cry too much!   (Peel before soaking!) :}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States