French Onion Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Loved the recipe, tweaked it with a little red wine vinegar, and used gouda cheese...fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abnormel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Blind Bay, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Nothing wrong with this classic recipe, but two things I do: I think a key ingredient to french onion soup is thyme. I slowly brown/carmelize the onions over an extended period of time. This yields better flavors. 10 minutes will not do it. A few other 'ideas'? I'm into spicy foods and will often throw a couple of bird's eye peppers or similar. On occasion, I'll add bacon for a bit of a Canadian twist. But if you do, do so after you've finished cooking the soup. Otherwise, it will tend to cook the bacon flavor right out and simply leave the soup just a bit saltier than it already it was. Finally, consider making an extra effort on the bread. Cut or break into appropriate sized pieces and throw into a bag with a bit of olive oil, thyme, pepper, etc; and shake it like a polaroid picture. Then bake in oven until dry and crunchy. Keep these on hand for the next few days to throw into your soup as required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
One of the best I have tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Easy and tasty! I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was DELICIOUS!!! Just as good if not better as any I have had at restaurants. I followed the advice of carmelizing the onions for longer, about 25 minutes and it was perfect. My boyfriend loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This is the first time I tried french onion soup because I try it everywhere and I was certain mine wouldn't compare. I was wrong. I used this recipe with a few changes and it was just as good if not better than restaurant. I caramelized the onion first, and added beef boullion to the water. I also gave it a splash of garlic powder, salt, and worstechire (whatev) sauce. It was delicious and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I think this is my 2nd time reviewing this because I just made this soup again yesterday and it knocked my socks off. The only change I made was a bit less wine. I can't wait to make it for a potluck because people will be blown away. So easy, so delicious. Best ever and I've had TONS of french onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Phenomenal! I just returned Paris where my Christmas Eve dinner was a comforting bowl of authentic French onion soup. I had made this recipe years ago (an ex-bf engulfed it), and decided to try it again due to my Parisian nostalgia. I tweaked the recipe a little: substituted one quart of beef broth for the water and broth called and used olive oil instead of butter. It came out even better than I remembered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
It's a good recipe; can't say great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This was awesome! One of the best french onion soups I've had in a long time. I used chicken broth instead of beef and pinot grigio instead of redwine. My husband licked his plate clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States