French Onion Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Easy and tasty! I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was DELICIOUS!!! Just as good if not better as any I have had at restaurants. I followed the advice of carmelizing the onions for longer, about 25 minutes and it was perfect. My boyfriend loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This is the first time I tried french onion soup because I try it everywhere and I was certain mine wouldn't compare. I was wrong. I used this recipe with a few changes and it was just as good if not better than restaurant. I caramelized the onion first, and added beef boullion to the water. I also gave it a splash of garlic powder, salt, and worstechire (whatev) sauce. It was delicious and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I think this is my 2nd time reviewing this because I just made this soup again yesterday and it knocked my socks off. The only change I made was a bit less wine. I can't wait to make it for a potluck because people will be blown away. So easy, so delicious. Best ever and I've had TONS of french onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Phenomenal! I just returned Paris where my Christmas Eve dinner was a comforting bowl of authentic French onion soup. I had made this recipe years ago (an ex-bf engulfed it), and decided to try it again due to my Parisian nostalgia. I tweaked the recipe a little: substituted one quart of beef broth for the water and broth called and used olive oil instead of butter. It came out even better than I remembered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
It's a good recipe; can't say great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This was awesome! One of the best french onion soups I've had in a long time. I used chicken broth instead of beef and pinot grigio instead of redwine. My husband licked his plate clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Delicious! Used brown sugar instead of white, croutons instead of bread, and added a few dashes of Worcestershire, salt, pepper, and thyme as recommended by some other reviewers. Also threw in some thinly-sliced mushrooms. Husband said it was the best soup he'd ever tasted, and has even requested that I make it for our Christmas dinner at HIS family's house! Success! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
the best french onion soup ever!!!! Easy to make and sooooo good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States