French Onion Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I liked this recipe. I have been searching for a good french onion soup. The only change I made was to use Chicken Broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunbarton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
As written didnt care for it..sorry....the wine was over powering ...I sauteed the onions for an hour only to lose the sweetness..yes wish I would have used white wine..and only 1/4 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Billiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I will use Valdalia onions next time to seeten it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh Barringer Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
this soup very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This is a delicious and easy version of classic french onion soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Loved the recipe, tweaked it with a little red wine vinegar, and used gouda cheese...fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abnormel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Blind Bay, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Nothing wrong with this classic recipe, but two things I do: I think a key ingredient to french onion soup is thyme. I slowly brown/carmelize the onions over an extended period of time. This yields better flavors. 10 minutes will not do it. A few other 'ideas'? I'm into spicy foods and will often throw a couple of bird's eye peppers or similar. On occasion, I'll add bacon for a bit of a Canadian twist. But if you do, do so after you've finished cooking the soup. Otherwise, it will tend to cook the bacon flavor right out and simply leave the soup just a bit saltier than it already it was. Finally, consider making an extra effort on the bread. Cut or break into appropriate sized pieces and throw into a bag with a bit of olive oil, thyme, pepper, etc; and shake it like a polaroid picture. Then bake in oven until dry and crunchy. Keep these on hand for the next few days to throw into your soup as required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
One of the best I have tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States